Lemon Glazed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This tastes just like the lemon cake Grandma used to make when I was a kid. It might sound strange, but we used to put a hunk of cake in a bowl, pour milk over it and eat it with a spoon. Yum! LOL. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is a great cake...just finished eating a piece still warm from the oven. I did add lemon zest as well as a teaspoon of vanilla to the icing. For the cake, I included 1 tsp. real lemon extract in place of part of the water. It's a wonderful cake. I may try experimenting with the icing the next time I make this because there WILL be a next time! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maysville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tollesboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Excellent. I loved the tang of the real lemon used in the glaze. A thin slice is very satisfying. I left out the food coloring. Even though the glaze was runny I preferred it to a thick sugary shell-like glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
i made this cake over the weekend and while i loved it and everyone else seemed to like it, i thought it was a little overwhelming. i think next time i'm going to try using a regular yellow cake mix instead of the lemon cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I am going to do something I totally hate that is change the recipe and rate it b/c then it really isn't the posted recipe you are rating but your recipe anyway I never have luck baking homemade cakes especially bundt cakes so I used a lemon cake mix and made the glaze as posted. I let the cake cool for about 10 minutes in the pan than turned it onto a wire rack I put serving plate under the rack to catch the drips and spooned the glaze over top there is way too much glaze but that could be b/c I used a cake mix anyway I just kept respooning the dripped glaze over the cake. Served it at a family bbq and got rave reviews the cake is so good thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanford, Florida, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This was very easy to make and was a big success for a pot-luck party we went to. Love the lemony flavor! I didn't change anything with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
If you're looking for tangy lemon flavor, choose this recipe! A tip: If using a bundt pan, poke holes in the crevices (as opposed to the crowns) and pour half the glaze. Then, add another cup of confectioners' sugar and a drop of food coloring and pour the rest. This gives a thicker, more colorful glaze. Since my young daughter requested this for her b-day, I topped with multi-colored sprinkles. You could add something a bit more sophisticated (lemon wedges?)if serving adults. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYMAGICWORD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I baked this cake for Easter. I followed the recipe and it turned out TERRIFIC, my family & friends loved it so a friend asked me to baked this cake for her to give to her mother for Mother's Day. (GREAT recipe)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
My grandmother used to make this cake each year for my birthday and I miss it! The only difference is she would use lemon flavored instant pudding mix, not geletin. This recipe is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjhd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Just what I was craving!! LOVE the lemon glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States