Lemon Glazed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Not as special as I had expected. Nice cake - but it just tasted like a cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUESUE8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
I really like this cake. I decided to switch things up and make this recipe with strawberry cake mix and gelatin. It turned out amazing. For the glaze, I took fresh strawberries and pureed them along with the confectioner's sugar, butter, and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Very tastey cake. Had trouble with the glaze staying on the cake. I did add some lemon zest to the glaze mix for added lemon flavour, which gave it that extra little zip! Everyone at the table enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by subtleblonde
Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This cake is delicious. I used white cake mix instead of lemon because that is what I had on hand. I served this with vanilla ice cream and it was a hit. Not a crumb left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Easy, quick glaze. Didn't make the cake, but used the glaze on Chocolate Cake. Hubby doesn't like lemon so I excluded the lemon juice and increased the water. Added a splash of almond extract for a kick...turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Seaman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
GREAT cake! I made this to include in my Christmas cookie trays for the neighbors (I felt like something lemony) and this was perfect. It made a lot of glaze, but I kept scooping it up with a spatula and spreading it back on top and into the holes. A definite keeper. It'll be great in the summer with whipped cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This tastes just like the lemon cake Grandma used to make when I was a kid. It might sound strange, but we used to put a hunk of cake in a bowl, pour milk over it and eat it with a spoon. Yum! LOL. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This is a great cake...just finished eating a piece still warm from the oven. I did add lemon zest as well as a teaspoon of vanilla to the icing. For the cake, I included 1 tsp. real lemon extract in place of part of the water. It's a wonderful cake. I may try experimenting with the icing the next time I make this because there WILL be a next time! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maysville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tollesboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Excellent. I loved the tang of the real lemon used in the glaze. A thin slice is very satisfying. I left out the food coloring. Even though the glaze was runny I preferred it to a thick sugary shell-like glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherrys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
i made this cake over the weekend and while i loved it and everyone else seemed to like it, i thought it was a little overwhelming. i think next time i'm going to try using a regular yellow cake mix instead of the lemon cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States