Lemon Glazed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This cake turned out very light and the glaze added a tangy lemon taste. It does have a little bit of boxed taste so next time I'll make it from scratch. I made some changes to the original recipe above. I altered this recipe to the one on the Duncan Hines box. I used instant vanilla pudding instead of jello. I used a dark bundt cake pan instead of the 9x13 and baked on 350 for 60 minutes. I only added 1/3 cup oil but 1 cup of water. I replaced the water in the recipe with additional lemon juice. Can anyone tell me why it calls for the butter in the frosting?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I omitted the water and used fresh lime juice instead of lemon juice for the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelmichelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I used orange juice in place of water. I also used real lemon juice for the glaze, it turned out really moist. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robertsdale, Alabama, USA
Living In: Foley, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This cake is so good. Moist,and delicious I will be making over and over. I did add some lemon zest in the cake and also in the glaze. yummy in my tummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
pretty good cake, very moist. i used yellow cake mix and it was slightly lemony. my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I don't even usually like lemon desserts, but my husband wanted a lemon cake for his bday. I ended up eating the majority of the cake...this recipe is really awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Loved this cake! I only had lime jello on hand and it tasted great. I added extra zest and juice to the glaze (I love tangy citrus) and first poked some holes in the bottom of my bundt cake and poured over, then flipped the cake over and poured the rest on top-super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Followed the recipe as written and loved it. It has quickly become my daughter's favorite. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This exceeded my expectations for a cake mix. No artificial cake mix flavor! I made the cake, just as written, in a Bundt pan. I left out the water in the glaze, which I brushed on with a pastry brush. This is moist, lemony and delicious. My only criticism is the bright yellow color, which advertises "artificial."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
YUM! I love lemons and this was a HIT! I did use a package of lemon pudding. I also only made 1/2 the icing (No water, extra sugar for a thicker glaze), and brushed it on with a pastry brush. MUCH better than a whole smear of thick frosting. It was really pretty on my cakestand and was a welcome adition to our Easter Lunch. I will be making this one for years to come!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KieshaMessina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States