Lemon Ginger Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Tasted good, but not outstanding. I changed the recipe to 1/3 (1 lb shrimp) using the Allrecipes converter. I followed the recipe except I omitted the salt, had to use powdered ginger, and broiled them in the oven. The marinade seemed too thick, so I added extra olive oil. Sodium warning: My frozen shrimp came heavily salted -- I assumed they would be low sodium but it was quite the opposite. Even though I peeled and rinsed them, they tasted well salted at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
I think its the best I ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
This was really good. I threw this together and grilled it on the George Foreman, and served with some pasta and homemade sauce. I will not use ginger next time. I have used this in several recipes lately and they all seem to have this wierd taste mixed in there.. I believe it is the ginger that I am not likeing. I would also maybe baste this with some butter afterward it has grilled or maybe dip it in melted butter while eating. Still good just missing something in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lewisburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I used frozen shrimp and some changes based on what I had and this was EXCELLENT. Substituted peanut oil because that is what I had- no sesame. THen I used green onion- one bunch, about 5 and used only one half of each because it was in the frigde. Let is sit overnight. Loved it, will make again. Could experiment with a little coconut milk to make a sauce. GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newcook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This was excellent. Not too spicy, not too tangy, but the perfect blend of both. I used gemelli pasta and wouldn't change a thing if I made it again. I wondered about substituting rice for the pasta after reading other reviews and really I love rice, but after trying it as the recipe states, I decided this is definitely a pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This was a fantastic dish, I served this with white rice and stir fried vegetables. I left off the onion, used 4 cloves of garlic, and used minced ginger in a jar, my family really enjoyed this recipe, we are going to try chicken and salmon next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
We liked this recipe. My husband liked it more than I did, so it might be a matter of taste. We like grated ginger, so I added extra and was glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I thought this recipe was just ok, I only change one thing and that was, I used flat leaf parsley instead of cilantro. The shrimp tatsted nothing like lemon or ginger which I added extra. I guess that's the flavor I was looking for with the title and all. I did grill mine over charcoal and while they were good and I ate them. I will tweat this recipe next time (IF) I make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This was pretty good. There were a few things we would change about it- there was not much of a ginger flavor. Overall, it was pretty good. I served it with a lemon-ginger rice that I concocted, and it was a pretty good match! I'll make it again, with more ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
Good shrimp and easy recipe, but I agree with the others than the lemon or ginger don't really stand out as flavors so if that is what you are expecting you may be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Utokia's Tips for Ginger Shrimp & Broccoli

Shrimp and broccoli bake with a ginger and garlic sauce in parchment packets.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States