Lemon Ginger Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
To die for!! I was lazy on this one - I didn't feel like chopping an onion, so I used 2 Tbl. minced (dry) onions, and didn't puree the ingredients. I wouldn't change a thing next time! I also pan-fried my shrimp instead of grilling - cooked about 2 minutes on each side, on med. high heat. The second time I made this, I marinated overnight. Although the flavor was wonderful, it made the shrimp turn a little mushy, so I won't do that again. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
First off, I cut the recipe in half as I only had 1 1/2 lbs. of 16/20 size shrimp. Not quite sure why this was titled Lemon Ginger Shrimp as neither flavor stood out. Instead this marinade was a GREAT fusion of flavors. The best I've tried in a very long time! Instead of skewering them, I grilled the shrimp in a Brookstone Quick Release BBQ Skillet ...This is a shallow, nonstick grilling skillet with plenty of small holes to let that great grilled flavor through! To me, the ingredients really said 'green onion/scallion' and not regular onion so that's what I used. I marinated the shrimp for 5 hours. Our family's only problem was that there wasn't nearly enough of them, and there were only 3 of us for dinner! Absolutely outstanding flavor with that hint of grilled smokiness to them. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2001
Great recipe. Quick to make. I added 1/4 cup of bourbon whisky to the marinade to add some more zip. It was delicious. I will be sharing this recipe with others. Thanks, Zuzka!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
I eliminated the onion and garlic (for allergies) and and barbequed these on skewers with chunks of pineapple and served them on their own as appetizers. They were delicious and I wiil definitely serve them again. A ginger and cilantro were nice fresh change from garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
These are absolutely wonderful. I didn't change a thing in the recipe. I've already made them twice this week! The first time I cooked these, I cooked them on the grill. The second time, I cooked them on the george foreman - and they came out just as good! I also tried the marinade on asparagus - they were wonderful! I am going to try the marinade on chicken and salmon at a later date. I imagine those will be heavenly too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grneyedmustang

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
This was an excellent recipie! I marinated the shrimp for at least 3 hrs, and then also brushed some on steaks. I put them on skewers and grilled. Delicious! I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipie, Zuzka!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
Very good! I made this recipe for a dinner party and it was a hit. I added scallops as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Very good! I had a 1.5 pound of 16/20 count shrimp, that I cleaned and deveined. I followed the ingredients and directions as written. I marinated the shrimp for 3 hours and then put the shrimp on the skewers to grill. The grilling time was approximate and fast. I like the blend of flavors -ginger and sesame especially. This is not spicy and has nice subtle flavors. I served this along with, "Herbed Rice Pilaf," and "Fast and Easy Spinach with Shallots," also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I've been searching for this recipe for years! My favourite Japanese teppan restaurant serves this as the sauce in which to dip teppan shrimp - I love it! My husband likes it on his teppan steak, too. The only thing I changed was parsley instead of cilantro (can't stand cilantro!).Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Wetaskiwin, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I was so incredibley pleased with this dish. Even though I didn't follow the directions entirely it was still awesome. I was a little short on lemon juice, ran out of minced garlic and had to use powdered, only had a tiny but of onion to spare and apparenlty my cilantro plant died between the time that I found the recipe and now.... so you know it's good if it still tasted amazing after all of those screw ups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poptart1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Shrimp with Lemon Aioli

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy, very flavorful grilled shrimp.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Spicy Grilled Shrimp

See how to make a simple, spicy marinade for truly memorable grilled shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States