Lemon Garlic Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This classic sauce of sauteed butter, parsley and lemon juice is fantastic. Definitely saute the garlic or else it will taste too raw, even after it's baked. I have used this sauce for almost all types of fish- true cod, halibut, basa, tilapia, sole, trout, and salmon. All tasted superb. ALWAYS increase the garlic. For 4 filets, I use 3 large cloves, 3-4 tablespoons butter and 2 tablespoon lemon juice. Just make sure you always have less lemon juice than butter or else it will taste too lemony -even when doubling/tripling it. For a large filet of salmon, I triple the amount. Lightly salt and pepper the fish for more flavor and I sometimes add 2-3 tablespoon of buttered bread crumbs or finely crushed (buttered) ritz crackers for an extra crunch. And of course, fresh parsley is better than dried and use real butter, never margarine. 3 stars for original recipe, 5 stars for slight alterations. Simple and flavorful marinade that still lets the flavor of the fish shine through. TIP- do NOT bake for 30 min, especially tilapia, which is so thin. High temperature, quick cooking time is a rule of thumb for all fish. For this, I did 400 degrees, for 10-12 min (at most!). If filets are super thin, try 8-10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Eireann
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This is my recipe and I just wanted to add a note here for everyone that you can substitute the butter for 1 tbsp of extra virgin olive oil and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3078 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I couldn't believe how easy and delicious this was! I changed the recipe a little based on suggestions from other reviewers...I sautéed the garlic, lemon juice and parsley in the butter before drizzling it over the tilapia, plus I added some red pepper flakes to the mixture. I covered the fillets with chili powder and I sprinkled parmesan cheese on top when there were only 10 minutes of baking time left. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1419 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Excellent, simple recipe. I do agree with outher members on a few comments. Butter is better, but it can be cut with some EVOO to reduce the saturated fat. It is better with fresh parsley also. And, it is a bit bland without a bit of salt and pepper before covering with the sauteed garlic/butter/oil mixture. I too put the lemon juice over the fish first for a short time. Be careful not to let it marinate too long or the fish will begin to soften (i.e.cook) due to the acid of the juice and the time for cooking will need to be shortened. I cooked it for about 10 min. at 400. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
490 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grosse Pointe Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Easy, quick, delicious -- but DO NOT bake for 30 minutes! Bake for 10 minutes and test for flakiness. If the fish flakes, it's done. Mine was perfect at 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
483 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I used an idea someone earlier presented - I baked these fillets individually in foil packets. I used garlic powder instead of garlic cloves (my husband is not a huge fan of garlic) and also added onion powder. The fish was flaky and delicious and the juices from the foil packets were so tasty over the rice we had with the fish. Green beans rounded out the meal. My husband and I want to eat healthier and this recipe will become a regular one, I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
478 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This was very good!!! I did mine a little different. I melted 1 stick of butter and sauteed 3 cloves of garlic and the juice from one lemon in the butter. I seasoned the fish with garlic salt, pepper, and cajun seasoning, poured the butter, garlic, and lemon mixture over the fish and let it sit in the pan with alluminum foil over it for about 2 hours before cooking. I let it cook for about 15 min on 375 and broiled it for about 2 min. It was the best baked fish I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
321 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
This was quick and easy. I Melted 2 T. butter in saucepan, then sauteed the garlic, parsley, and lemon juice in the butter. I salted and peppered the bottom of the tilapia fillets, then sprinkled the tops generously with Cajun seasoning (Tony Chachere's). Then I drizzled the butter mixture over fillets, then sprinkled generously with Parmesan cheese. Baked as directed for 15 minutes. Moist, flaky, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
For sure a 5*. Only change I made was to add the crushed garlic to the melted butter drizzle over the fish. My tilapia was frozen and I left it that way- straight into the oven. Came out perfect. Thought the lemon would be too much, was wrong... perfect, light and wonderful. Thanks Eireann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Incredible. I used a bit more garlic and put it in the melting butter as one member suggested. Wow wow wow. I also used a bit of herb/lemon Old Bay on the filets before putting on the lemon juice and butter/garlic. Cooked until it was just crispy on the bottom. If I have my say, this is the only way I will eat tilapia. Next time I will add a bit more lemon juice but this is fine just as listed. Give this one a go! Can I say 'wow' one more time? :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UZIMIKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States