Lemon Fried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Ohhhhhh, yeaaahhh. Looking for the perfect side dish? One that won't drown out the flavors of your main dish and will let IT be the star of the show? This is it! Gently enhanced with lemon and "amped" with soy sauce, this was just beautiful and downright delicious. Use butter, not margarine, for best flavor, and cook the rice in chicken broth. So delicious I could have eaten this on its own and skipped the "Oven-Baked Sesame Chicken" and "Almond Broccoli Stir-Fry" I served it with. But don't get me wrong - the three of these dishes together?..... perfect harmony.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Very good rice recipe as a result of modifying it. I added 2 tablespoons of lemon juice along with a 1/2 teaspoon of lemon pepper to add flavor (for 4 servings). I strongly recommend that the lemon pepper and lemon juice be added to this recipe; if not, it will be bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I made this for a dinner party one night and now my husband asks for it all the time. When I made it the first time I added 2X more hot sauce, also salt and pepper. 1/8 teaspoon of hot sauce it's not enough, you can't even taste it. I personally like my food with a little zip to it. It was a perfect combo of lemon flavor and spicey, definitly a crowd pleaser! Made this rice with Grilled Lemon Chicken (from AllRecipes),..YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SillyMonkey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This side dish was a nice surprise! It has a wonderful blend of flavors; I liked the minced fresh herbs. I absolutely love the fresh hint of lemon-nice! I omitted the hot pepper sauce since no one can tolerate anything spicy but I did add lots of fresh ground black pepper. I just eye-balled the low-sodium soy sauce, to taste, never measuring. The peas are tender and sweet while the rice is perfectly seasoned. I served this with, “Oven-Baked Sesame Chicken,” and “Asian-Style Zucchini,” also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This is a wonderful side dish! I always boil my rice in chicken broth with garlic powder ... I just think it makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Magic! I love when I happen upon a dish that just fits the meal perfectly and I can throw it together with what I have on hand and in a whim, when I realize I should serve something besides just shrimp. :) I didn't have parsley but didn't miss it this time around. A perfect balance of flavors; I loved the fresh zing of the lemon and how nicely it complemented the other flavors. As mentioned, I served this with a spicy shrimp...again, balancing the zip of the shrimp sauce. My bf said this is one to keep around!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Good Stuff! What else can I say, It's like Chinese soul food! Served with Korean Spicy Chicken Tenders With Sweet Apple from this site. 0 leftovers! This recipe will be a regular for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanie zucchini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Excellent with the modifications suggested in the reviews. I didn't even bother with the lemon peel. I made 4 servings, adding 2 Tbl lemon juice and 1 tsp lemon pepper. Also used fresh peas and brown rice. Make extra, since the leftovers are great as a main dish adding chicken breast pan-fried in olive oil and lemon juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Nice side dish. I skipped the onions and parsley. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jog Dish
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Wow!!! This is one of the best side dishes I have ever had! This is going in the fav's folder for sure. I may try adding more veggies next time to make it a bit healthier. Thanks for this recipe, we LOVED it:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States