Lemon Fluff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
What a great, light cake! Perfect for warm weather when you don't want anything dense and heavy. Mild panic when I realized my lemon extract was actually banana extract, but I used 6T lemon juice and it was perfect. Great lemony aftertaste! (I also used butter instead of shortening.) Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Very yummy! I used the fresh lemon juice and lemon rind like other people had suggested. I also added poppyseeds because I had some and figured I should start using them up. They added a nice crunch to the cake. I cooked it in a bundt pan because I was running short on time and figured it would look nicer in it than in a plain pan. After it cooled I just drizzled a glaze over it. (1 cup icing sugar, and the juice and rind from half a lemon and a little water to make it a little more porable) It turned out really well with a nice tart lemon flavor. This recipe is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I substituted 2 cups of Pamela's Baking Mix for the flour and baking soda in this recipe to make it gluten free. It turned out moist (a nice quality when baking gf) and delicious. Nobody knew it was gluten free. My only issue was that it sank in the middle but a little extra frosting took care of that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I took the other reviews into consideration and made this with the juice and zest of one lemon. It was great but would have been fine with even a little bit more lemon. I used this for cupcakes and baked them for 15 minutes. I had to double the recipe at the last minute because the batter was only enough for about 18 cupcakes and I was bringing them to a party. I topped them with a homemade cream cheese frosting and garnished with a fresh raspberry - they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I made this by substituting the lemon extract with zest of 1 lemon & about 5 tbsp fresh lemon juice. I thought it was a little floury tasting with almost no lemon at all. I like the moistness & texture, but I'll try the lemon extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was really, really good. The texture was fabulous - light bust very moist. I subtituted the lemon extract with about 2 tbsp lemon juice and the rind of 1/2 a lemon, and the shortening with unsalted butter. Oh, and I used skim milk. : ) I'm giving this cake four stars because I felt what really made it amazing (even my father went back for seconds! unheard of!) was the lemon glaze I topped it with (just mix lemon juice, confectioners sugar, and lemon rind) and the lemon ricotta creme I served on the side. The combination was oustanding. For the ricotta creme, I just threw about a cup of ricotta (part skim), tbsp lemon juice, lemon rind from one lemon, 1 tbsp half and half, and maybe 2 tbsp sugar? because you can throw it all in the blender, you can really just adjust to your liking. Wonderful recipe. This is probably the new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is a wonderful, dense, moist cake. I used lime juice and zest instead of the lemon. I used about 4 table spoons of lime juice and the zest from one lime. I also glazed it with a lime glaze. (1 cup icing sugar, 1 tbsp margerine, 2 - 4 tbsp lime juice). It was delicious! Even my boyfriend liked it and he is not a fan of cake. I made this in a bundt pan. It makes a small bundt but because the cake is so rich the size was just right. Oh, I also substituted the shortening for a 1/2cup square/stick of margerine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Too dense, no flavor (even when i added exra) and just overall every plain and unattractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralee McCloskey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Excellent cake-very moist. I made a couple of substitutions. I didn't have cake flour, so I did 1 3/4 all purpose flour, 1/4 corn starch. Also didn't have shortening, so I used butter instead. I used the zest and juice of two lemons instad of the extract (although possibly didn't need that much zest). Only had skim milk on hand, which worked fine. I iced it with a lemon icing and topped with strawberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States