Lemon Fluff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I substituted 2 cups of Pamela's Baking Mix for the flour and baking soda in this recipe to make it gluten free. It turned out moist (a nice quality when baking gf) and delicious. Nobody knew it was gluten free. My only issue was that it sank in the middle but a little extra frosting took care of that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I took the other reviews into consideration and made this with the juice and zest of one lemon. It was great but would have been fine with even a little bit more lemon. I used this for cupcakes and baked them for 15 minutes. I had to double the recipe at the last minute because the batter was only enough for about 18 cupcakes and I was bringing them to a party. I topped them with a homemade cream cheese frosting and garnished with a fresh raspberry - they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I made this by substituting the lemon extract with zest of 1 lemon & about 5 tbsp fresh lemon juice. I thought it was a little floury tasting with almost no lemon at all. I like the moistness & texture, but I'll try the lemon extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This was really, really good. The texture was fabulous - light bust very moist. I subtituted the lemon extract with about 2 tbsp lemon juice and the rind of 1/2 a lemon, and the shortening with unsalted butter. Oh, and I used skim milk. : ) I'm giving this cake four stars because I felt what really made it amazing (even my father went back for seconds! unheard of!) was the lemon glaze I topped it with (just mix lemon juice, confectioners sugar, and lemon rind) and the lemon ricotta creme I served on the side. The combination was oustanding. For the ricotta creme, I just threw about a cup of ricotta (part skim), tbsp lemon juice, lemon rind from one lemon, 1 tbsp half and half, and maybe 2 tbsp sugar? because you can throw it all in the blender, you can really just adjust to your liking. Wonderful recipe. This is probably the new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is a wonderful, dense, moist cake. I used lime juice and zest instead of the lemon. I used about 4 table spoons of lime juice and the zest from one lime. I also glazed it with a lime glaze. (1 cup icing sugar, 1 tbsp margerine, 2 - 4 tbsp lime juice). It was delicious! Even my boyfriend liked it and he is not a fan of cake. I made this in a bundt pan. It makes a small bundt but because the cake is so rich the size was just right. Oh, I also substituted the shortening for a 1/2cup square/stick of margerine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Too dense, no flavor (even when i added exra) and just overall every plain and unattractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauralee McCloskey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Excellent cake-very moist. I made a couple of substitutions. I didn't have cake flour, so I did 1 3/4 all purpose flour, 1/4 corn starch. Also didn't have shortening, so I used butter instead. I used the zest and juice of two lemons instad of the extract (although possibly didn't need that much zest). Only had skim milk on hand, which worked fine. I iced it with a lemon icing and topped with strawberries. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Absolutely delicious. I made this for my daughter's birthday. I can't get cake flour here, so I used all purpose. It was beautifully light and moist. Frosted with lemon icing from this site. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
i doubled the recipe to get 2 10" round pans. I ommited the lemon extract and added 9 teaspoons of lemon juice for the double batch. When it came out however, there was barely any lemon flavour. i really liked the texture of the cake though and that is saying a lot since i hate cake! i would make this again but add way more lemon juice as i dont like lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States