Lemon Fluff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I used regular flour instead of cake flour and that might have been my problem. I also used rind and juice of a lemon instead of extract. The cake was okay but quite heavy. I whipped the whites and softly folded them in but maybe it's the altitude, I can never get a whisked whites cake to work for me here. Thanks anyway, I'm definately going to keep looking for my lemon cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Used the cake flour substitute (1 3/4 C AP and 1/4 C Cornstarch) and made into cupcakes. Turned out great although you could still taste flour. Perhaps just a little more extract could fix that. It wasn't a deal breaker for me. Made lemon curd that used the remaining 3 egg yolks (juice of 2 lemons, 3 egg yolks, ~8 tbsp sugar, 4 tbsp butter) and filled the cupcake with a little of it. Also topped it off with the Lemon Icing from this site. Thought it might be lemon overload but I guess this is where the subtle lemon flavor of the cake was a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Great cake..maybe a teeny bit dry. You have to use some sort of moistening icing or frosting to moisten it up - like a lemon curd or a syrup or something. But it had a great taste and got tons of compliments. Freezes and decorates well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This had to be the moistest cake I have ever had!!! I made this for my Dads birthday and everyone was raving about how moist it was and how wonderful it tasted. I added a little more lemon and topped with a lemon glaze....thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Good flavor and texture. I increased the lemon extract to 2 tsp. I also didn't have any cake flour so I just decreased the amount by about 3 tbsp and used all purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
for those of you who said this cake was great for me the exact opposite I have never had so many problems with a cake as with this one ohhh and super bland also no where near enough for 2 8" pans only enough for one I make alot of cakes and this was for my 3 yr olds b-day I was so glad I tried it today instead of on sunday the day of the party...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I've been looking for a good white cake recipe, and this is the one I'll stick with. I used almond flavouring instead of lemon and made cupcakes with the batter, topping each cupcake with some almond slices before baking and topped them off with a sprinkle of icing sugar afterwards. Seems like a very flavour-versatile recipe - I'm going to try lemon, orange, banana and plain vanilla in the future as well. And the cake was SO fluffy and moist - just like a Duncan Hines mix but better-tasting and not full of chemical garbage. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
would have liked to have rated this 4.5 stars...only reason not a 5 is that the lemon flavor is not as intense as needed...I used lemon juice and next time will add more...I will also use zest next time...didn't because I had made a lemon filling that was quite zesty and did not want to overpower the cake. This batter is wonderful. Cake was slightly less "fluffy" than I wanted, but a friend said it was fabulous! She doesn't even really like lemon! Will bookmark this one...I think a double recipe making at least 3 layers; cake would hold up to spliting and would be beautiful with multi-layers filled with a lovely lemon curd or filling. I was also thrilled with the simplicity of the recipe. Thanks! a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe and wonderful direction! I love to bake, but have always failed at cakes. I gave up years ago. But something stirred me to try this one, and it was a raging success! I opted for coconut flavoring and a light glaze to finish, and still it was divine. Thank you so much for this recipe! My kitchen has been my laboratory ever since I made this cake, and I'm loving every minute of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I made this for my husband's birthday and it was fantastic. The only change I made was I added the zest of one lemon for extra lemony flavor. I iced it with a lemon cream cheese icing and used lemon jelly slices for decoration. It was a huge hit. You could easily substitute lime or orange for the lemon for variety. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States