Lemon Fluff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I plan on making this, but first I must let people know that often I log on to a recipe I know I would like. However, I pass them over mainly because of the reviews I read that people review only based on their changes. Simply put, try the recipe, review, if you don't like it, edit with your changes, submit it and wait until it is then selected and added to the new recipes. Seems fair. I know it takes awhile to have your recipe selected, but play fair, do not speed up the process by adding "YOUR" recipe in your review of another member. Just saying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was one of the best cakes of any kind that I've ever made. I made a couple of substitutions because I didn't have shortening or cake flour. I used the cornstarch method I've seen also listed here in the reviews as well. Also used margarine instead of the shortening. Didn't have extract, but had lemon juice. Worked just as well. This cake was incredibly moist and soft. I plan on making it again tonight! Lol ?? I'm so happy I found this recipe and so is my family. The whole cake was gone in one night lol. I made a lemon glaze with 3 tablespoons of butter and about a cup and a half of powdered sugar and a teaspoon of vanilla, splash of milk and of course, more lemon juice. It hardened on the cake as it cooled and was absolutely delicious. I give this recipe 5 stars and would give it 10 if I could lol!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
My daughter found this recipe for the surprise baby shower she threw me. I decided to make them as mini cupcakes and they turned out great!! I reduced the temp. to 8-10 minutes for 24 cupcakes. Yields about 48 mounded cupcakes. Top with cream cheese frosting and strawberry slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Well I'm not sure what I did wrong, but there was nothing fluffy about my cake. I followed the recipe exactly and it was a total fail. Flavour was ok though. Don't think I will try this one again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Mackenzie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Meh... I didn't think the lemon extract would be enough lemon flavor. I followed other reviewer's advice and used fresh squeezed lemon juice in place of the lemon extract and added fresh grated lemon zest. It still wasn't lemony enough for my taste. I will make this again, but add even more lemon juice and lemon zest, as I like my lemon cake to be very lemony. I think there is some room to play with the recipe. The texture and moisture was great, just not lemony enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
was very moist but not enough lemon. I added extra lemon extra and lemon juice and it still was very bland. Good cake but I was looking for something really lemony. I enjoyed the boxed mix much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Yum! I made this as cupcakes to decorate for Easter. I added the zest of one lemon in addition to the lemon extract and I think the flavour is just right. I also reduced the sugar by about 1/4 cup. One recipe made 24 small cupcakes (2.25" diameter) and 24 mini (1.75" diameter). The texture and taste is similar to angel food cake, but not quite as light. I'm happy to have found another recipe to use up egg whites. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
i have this cake in the oven at the moment so i will be back when it's done to update. i did make some modifications as follows: i didn't have cake flour so i subbed 1 3/4 c all purpose flour + 1/4 c corn starch, rather than lemon extract i used the juice of two lemons + the rind of 1 lemon, and lastly, rather than 1/2 c shortening i used 1/2 c unsalted butter. usually i LOVE the taste of cake batter but to be honest the taste of this batter didn't have me licking the beaters. :( i REALLY hope this cake will taste better once cooked! UPDATE: what a disappointment... this cake is nothing other than a mock angel food cake. it didn't rise much and it actually fell a little in the middle (had it been in a tube pan like a normal angel food cake that wouldn't have happened). because it fell the center of cake is a bit gummy while the edges taste pretty decent (but like i said, like an angel food cake). if you're looking for a good lemon cake i recommend looking for another recipe. i won't try this recipe again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
So good! It had the perfect amount of sweetness and just the right amount of lemon flavor. I filled the layers with blackberry jam and topped it with lemon cream. It almost tasted like a brunch cake. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SizzleCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
this cake was the best , light and fluffy: I did add lemon juice, orange juice, and lemon and orange zest to give it some flavor. after reading other reviews I saw that I would need to add some flavor, very zesty cake, topped it off with whip topping mixed with crushed pineapples and instant vanilla pudding. it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States