Lemon Fluff Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
My daughter found this recipe for the surprise baby shower she threw me. I decided to make them as mini cupcakes and they turned out great!! I reduced the temp. to 8-10 minutes for 24 cupcakes. Yields about 48 mounded cupcakes. Top with cream cheese frosting and strawberry slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Well I'm not sure what I did wrong, but there was nothing fluffy about my cake. I followed the recipe exactly and it was a total fail. Flavour was ok though. Don't think I will try this one again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Meh... I didn't think the lemon extract would be enough lemon flavor. I followed other reviewer's advice and used fresh squeezed lemon juice in place of the lemon extract and added fresh grated lemon zest. It still wasn't lemony enough for my taste. I will make this again, but add even more lemon juice and lemon zest, as I like my lemon cake to be very lemony. I think there is some room to play with the recipe. The texture and moisture was great, just not lemony enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
was very moist but not enough lemon. I added extra lemon extra and lemon juice and it still was very bland. Good cake but I was looking for something really lemony. I enjoyed the boxed mix much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CareBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Yum! I made this as cupcakes to decorate for Easter. I added the zest of one lemon in addition to the lemon extract and I think the flavour is just right. I also reduced the sugar by about 1/4 cup. One recipe made 24 small cupcakes (2.25" diameter) and 24 mini (1.75" diameter). The texture and taste is similar to angel food cake, but not quite as light. I'm happy to have found another recipe to use up egg whites. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
i have this cake in the oven at the moment so i will be back when it's done to update. i did make some modifications as follows: i didn't have cake flour so i subbed 1 3/4 c all purpose flour + 1/4 c corn starch, rather than lemon extract i used the juice of two lemons + the rind of 1 lemon, and lastly, rather than 1/2 c shortening i used 1/2 c unsalted butter. usually i LOVE the taste of cake batter but to be honest the taste of this batter didn't have me licking the beaters. :( i REALLY hope this cake will taste better once cooked! UPDATE: what a disappointment... this cake is nothing other than a mock angel food cake. it didn't rise much and it actually fell a little in the middle (had it been in a tube pan like a normal angel food cake that wouldn't have happened). because it fell the center of cake is a bit gummy while the edges taste pretty decent (but like i said, like an angel food cake). if you're looking for a good lemon cake i recommend looking for another recipe. i won't try this recipe again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
So good! It had the perfect amount of sweetness and just the right amount of lemon flavor. I filled the layers with blackberry jam and topped it with lemon cream. It almost tasted like a brunch cake. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SizzleCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
this cake was the best , light and fluffy: I did add lemon juice, orange juice, and lemon and orange zest to give it some flavor. after reading other reviews I saw that I would need to add some flavor, very zesty cake, topped it off with whip topping mixed with crushed pineapples and instant vanilla pudding. it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I used regular flour instead of cake flour and that might have been my problem. I also used rind and juice of a lemon instead of extract. The cake was okay but quite heavy. I whipped the whites and softly folded them in but maybe it's the altitude, I can never get a whisked whites cake to work for me here. Thanks anyway, I'm definately going to keep looking for my lemon cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Used the cake flour substitute (1 3/4 C AP and 1/4 C Cornstarch) and made into cupcakes. Turned out great although you could still taste flour. Perhaps just a little more extract could fix that. It wasn't a deal breaker for me. Made lemon curd that used the remaining 3 egg yolks (juice of 2 lemons, 3 egg yolks, ~8 tbsp sugar, 4 tbsp butter) and filled the cupcake with a little of it. Also topped it off with the Lemon Icing from this site. Thought it might be lemon overload but I guess this is where the subtle lemon flavor of the cake was a good thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States