Lemon Fiesta Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
I have a very similar recipe for a lemon loaf (baked in the large loaf pan). We don't use the lemon extract or raisins and use more zest. Also, instead of the frosting, it's really good to combine about 3/4 cup each of fresh lemon juice and sugar to use as a glaze. When the cake comes out of the oven, let it cool for about 15 minutes, then poke it all over with the slender skewer and pour the glaze over. It will soak it up and it adds amazing flavor. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I have made this cake twice (without raisins) and each time it has come out delicious. First time I baked as directed in a square pan (did not make the glaze) and my family loved it. Second time I made cupcakes and reduced baking time to 15 minutes. When the cupcakes came out I spooned over a little glaze on each cupcake. I prefer this cake without the glaze which just adds a lot of calories and not much flavour. When I made the cupcakes I subsituted 1 cp lemon flavoured yogurt for buttermilk and added fresh lemon juice in place of lemon extract. I think these two subsitutions really enhanced the flavour of the cake. This is a really good and easy recipe. The lemon flavour is not overpowering and the cake is moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by globetrotter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Delicious lemon cake! This cake is very similar to a cake my mom made when I was growing up. I really like that this was a version without a cake mix included in the ingredient list. I did not measure the lemon zest, I just scraped until there was nothing left on the lemon. I also omitted the raisins so that my family would eat the cake. The glaze added a nice amount of sweet/tartness goodness to the cake. Glad I discovered this recipe while looking up a way to use up some buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
What a gem! It's not often I'm this wowed by a cake, this impressed with a recipe. Comparing it to some other 5-star cakes is almost unfair. As if the cake isn't good enough on its own, the rich, buttery, sweet lemon glaze (which I gradually brushed on with a pastry brush) soaks in and transforms this into something celestial. The kind of cake that when you taste that first bite you close your eyes and sigh, "Mmmmm." (I'm not kidding) This cake is so good, so delicious, so perfect, that it almost defies description and it will probably sound trite when I try. It is fluffy, moist, light, buttery, lemony and pretty as a picture. A simply lovely lemon cake. I can't imagine making this cake any differently than how the recipe directs. I can only imagine that any change would change its perfection. Leave OUT the glaze? No! Frost with butter cream? Please don't! Don't fill it, don't frost it, don't add, take out or change anything. This is one of the best cakes, if made as the submitter directs, you'll ever eat. (Oh... I forgot. I did leave out the raisins. That was a good thing.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This cake is absolutely divine! Great texture, and even my BF who hates lemon loves this cake. I've made it twice now but instead of raisins I use fresh blueberries- so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
I made this cake for my mother's birthday and it was wonderful. The golden raisins really go well with the lemon. Even though I didn't use all of the lemon topping on the cake (my mother is dieting), it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Awesome!!! I actually used 3/4 cup buttermilk, and 1/4 cup tropicana no pulp orange juice. Instead of lemon extract I used juice from half a lemon and zest from the full lemon I also had to make my own buttermilk by adding a spoon on vinegar. I made double the amount of glaze and also added zest from a full lemon and a tablespoon more sugar to my mix.... I used a rectangle brownie pan and had batter left over so I used some small ceramic/glass pans (I'm not a baker do not familiar with the names /types of dishes) I also added a tsp more baking powder.... My cake turned out fluffy and moist.... And really tasty... Though I made extra glaze I only used what I felt it needed and kept the rest on the side for the people who preferred more sweet and tangy from the glaze.... Awesome!!! Also the shallow rectangle pan was done in 30 mins and the glass ones took 45 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lady_bla_bla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was really good! I used grated lemon peel from 2 lemons, lemon juice instead of extract (fresh,too), and sour milk in replace of the buttermilk I didn't have. Also, I did not add the raisins (my family aren't crazy about them), I also wasn't able to make the glaze that it called for, but instead I made my own glaze with powdered sugar,water and a little lemon juice. It soaked into the cake! Next time I will make this glaze, though. Nice, moist and fluffy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Photo by ella_hawk
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Fabulous!! I omitted the raisins, but otherwise followed the recipe exact. I used this recipe for making cake pops, and the cake came out so moist and very lemony. Perfect lemon cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ella_hawk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This cake is not attractive but it well makes up for that with the taste. I made it as directed with the exception of subbing lemonade for the lemon extract. I didn't have the extract even though I thought I did. It worked beautifully. I used a pastry brush to put the glaze on the cake. There is plenty of glaze and it makes the cake so moist. The cake looks like cornbread and is not pretty on the outside. The inside is so delicate, soft, moist and tasty. There was plenty of lemon flavor. To me the cake was perfectly sweet. Not too tart and not too sweet. I highly recommend this cake. I would NOT omit the glaze and use another icing. If you want pretty choose another recipe. If you want a good cake, make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States