Lemon Fiesta Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
What a gem! It's not often I'm this wowed by a cake, this impressed with a recipe. Comparing it to some other 5-star cakes is almost unfair. As if the cake isn't good enough on its own, the rich, buttery, sweet lemon glaze (which I gradually brushed on with a pastry brush) soaks in and transforms this into something celestial. The kind of cake that when you taste that first bite you close your eyes and sigh, "Mmmmm." (I'm not kidding) This cake is so good, so delicious, so perfect, that it almost defies description and it will probably sound trite when I try. It is fluffy, moist, light, buttery, lemony and pretty as a picture. A simply lovely lemon cake. I can't imagine making this cake any differently than how the recipe directs. I can only imagine that any change would change its perfection. Leave OUT the glaze? No! Frost with butter cream? Please don't! Don't fill it, don't frost it, don't add, take out or change anything. This is one of the best cakes, if made as the submitter directs, you'll ever eat. (Oh... I forgot. I did leave out the raisins. That was a good thing.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
I have a very similar recipe for a lemon loaf (baked in the large loaf pan). We don't use the lemon extract or raisins and use more zest. Also, instead of the frosting, it's really good to combine about 3/4 cup each of fresh lemon juice and sugar to use as a glaze. When the cake comes out of the oven, let it cool for about 15 minutes, then poke it all over with the slender skewer and pour the glaze over. It will soak it up and it adds amazing flavor. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This cake is absolutely divine! Great texture, and even my BF who hates lemon loves this cake. I've made it twice now but instead of raisins I use fresh blueberries- so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Very good cake, very moist! I made into 2 squares and stacked the squares (instead of the bundt). Poked holes all in and used glaze that was suggested in recipe. I thought it was delicious but hubby asked where the buttercream frosting was, LOL. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I have made this cake twice (without raisins) and each time it has come out delicious. First time I baked as directed in a square pan (did not make the glaze) and my family loved it. Second time I made cupcakes and reduced baking time to 15 minutes. When the cupcakes came out I spooned over a little glaze on each cupcake. I prefer this cake without the glaze which just adds a lot of calories and not much flavour. When I made the cupcakes I subsituted 1 cp lemon flavoured yogurt for buttermilk and added fresh lemon juice in place of lemon extract. I think these two subsitutions really enhanced the flavour of the cake. This is a really good and easy recipe. The lemon flavour is not overpowering and the cake is moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by globetrotter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I did not add the lemon extract or the raisins, and I glazed it with only lemon juice and sugar, combined and heated. I garnished with fresh lemon zest and hubby asked where the icing was! Oh well. It seemed a bit dry, though. He ate it, but I would probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
I made this cake for my mother's birthday and it was wonderful. The golden raisins really go well with the lemon. Even though I didn't use all of the lemon topping on the cake (my mother is dieting), it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I wanted to like this cake. It's easy and pretty.. but not very lemony and not very sweet. I left out the raisins and added blueberries - the blueberries were fresh and ripe and very sweet, but still the cake needed more. The glaze is AWESOME. I glazed the cake whole and the parts that slurped up the glaze are yummy. I plan on making a 2nd batch of glaze and glazing each slice to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This came out a bit crusty and heavier than I would have liked. That said, it was very tasty and a big hit. People kept asking what the spicing they were tasting was. I'm guessing that was the buttermilk. (I used a whole-fat buttermilk) Also the glaze portions are really high. I used about 1/3 of the glaze, and I still almost bathed the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I'm only rating the actual cake part of this recipe. I did not make the butter/lemon glaze that goes on top. I instead made a lemon buttercream that I frosted it with. For the cake part, I pretty much left the recipe as is except that I left out the raisins (no one in my family likes them and I can't imagine lemon with raisins?). The cake was fine - with a light & fluffy texture and it was moist. The cake does not taste really lemony by itself. With the icing it tastes better (I put lemon juice & lemon extract in my icing). If you are looking for a basic lemon cake recipe, this one will do but I bet you can find something better. If you don't like a really sweet cake, then you might like this cake. It's not sweet by itself but with the frosting (or glaze I'm sure) it's extra sweet. Just how I like it. I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States