Lemon Fiesta Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
This cake is really good. It's not the most amazing cake ever hence the four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Aparicio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ephrata, Washington, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This cake is absolutely divine! Great texture, and even my BF who hates lemon loves this cake. I've made it twice now but instead of raisins I use fresh blueberries- so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I have made this cake twice (without raisins) and each time it has come out delicious. First time I baked as directed in a square pan (did not make the glaze) and my family loved it. Second time I made cupcakes and reduced baking time to 15 minutes. When the cupcakes came out I spooned over a little glaze on each cupcake. I prefer this cake without the glaze which just adds a lot of calories and not much flavour. When I made the cupcakes I subsituted 1 cp lemon flavoured yogurt for buttermilk and added fresh lemon juice in place of lemon extract. I think these two subsitutions really enhanced the flavour of the cake. This is a really good and easy recipe. The lemon flavour is not overpowering and the cake is moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by globetrotter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I want to preface this by saying I hate reading reviews where people have altered the entire recipe and then rate it based off of that. With that being said, I had to use ingredients I had being that I unknowingly needed to make them last minute. I thought the actual cake part of this was light and fluffy. They turned out well, but I didn't think they were sweet enough. If I made these again I would up the sugar to 2 cups. Also, I used cake flour instead of all-purpose (if you do that, add two extra tablespoons to each cup of flour) and I did not have lemons on hand, so instead I used the zest of two small limes. In addition, I didn't have any buttermilk, so I made a substitute of milk and white vinegar. I also did not have any lemon extract, so I used about 1 1/2 tablespoons of lemon juice. If I made them again like this, I'd probably up that to 3 tablespoons. I was hoping for them to have a little kick, and the lemon flavor was subtle in this. I also omitted the raisins because that didn't sound appealing to me. Moving along, I don't have a Bundt cake pan, so I decided to just turn them into Lemon Cupcakes. After they came out of the oven, I let them cool and I mixed up 10x, a lot of lemon juice, and a few drops of water. I made the glaze so it was a thick consistency, and I heavily covered the cupcakes with the icing. I did the glaze like that because I didn't feel like messing with boiling stuff on the stove. The glaze made them taste so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This came out a bit crusty and heavier than I would have liked. That said, it was very tasty and a big hit. People kept asking what the spicing they were tasting was. I'm guessing that was the buttermilk. (I used a whole-fat buttermilk) Also the glaze portions are really high. I used about 1/3 of the glaze, and I still almost bathed the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was really good! I used grated lemon peel from 2 lemons, lemon juice instead of extract (fresh,too), and sour milk in replace of the buttermilk I didn't have. Also, I did not add the raisins (my family aren't crazy about them), I also wasn't able to make the glaze that it called for, but instead I made my own glaze with powdered sugar,water and a little lemon juice. It soaked into the cake! Next time I will make this glaze, though. Nice, moist and fluffy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
What a gem! It's not often I'm this wowed by a cake, this impressed with a recipe. Comparing it to some other 5-star cakes is almost unfair. As if the cake isn't good enough on its own, the rich, buttery, sweet lemon glaze (which I gradually brushed on with a pastry brush) soaks in and transforms this into something celestial. The kind of cake that when you taste that first bite you close your eyes and sigh, "Mmmmm." (I'm not kidding) This cake is so good, so delicious, so perfect, that it almost defies description and it will probably sound trite when I try. It is fluffy, moist, light, buttery, lemony and pretty as a picture. A simply lovely lemon cake. I can't imagine making this cake any differently than how the recipe directs. I can only imagine that any change would change its perfection. Leave OUT the glaze? No! Frost with butter cream? Please don't! Don't fill it, don't frost it, don't add, take out or change anything. This is one of the best cakes, if made as the submitter directs, you'll ever eat. (Oh... I forgot. I did leave out the raisins. That was a good thing.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I'm only rating the actual cake part of this recipe. I did not make the butter/lemon glaze that goes on top. I instead made a lemon buttercream that I frosted it with. For the cake part, I pretty much left the recipe as is except that I left out the raisins (no one in my family likes them and I can't imagine lemon with raisins?). The cake was fine - with a light & fluffy texture and it was moist. The cake does not taste really lemony by itself. With the icing it tastes better (I put lemon juice & lemon extract in my icing). If you are looking for a basic lemon cake recipe, this one will do but I bet you can find something better. If you don't like a really sweet cake, then you might like this cake. It's not sweet by itself but with the frosting (or glaze I'm sure) it's extra sweet. Just how I like it. I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Very good cake, very moist! I made into 2 squares and stacked the squares (instead of the bundt). Poked holes all in and used glaze that was suggested in recipe. I thought it was delicious but hubby asked where the buttercream frosting was, LOL. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I did not add the lemon extract or the raisins, and I glazed it with only lemon juice and sugar, combined and heated. I garnished with fresh lemon zest and hubby asked where the icing was! Oh well. It seemed a bit dry, though. He ate it, but I would probably not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States