Lemon Drops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I love these. I have lots of lemons to use up, so I am trying different cookies. After reading reviews, I was just a bit worried about taste; I really wanted very lemony cookies. I used one cup of butter, because I never use shortening/margarine. I added 2 oz of squeezed lemon juice. I added 1/8 cup of sugar (prb didn't really need) and an extra 1/4 cup flour, altho I could have probably added more flour to make it a bit firmer. I was worried about too floury of a taste. Chilling the dough for about 45mins in the refrigerator firmed it enough that I could roll it in my hands. It does not flatten though, so if you want a a cookie and not a ball, you will have to flatten yourself. I baked at 365 degrees after the first batch was just a little too brown on the edges. For 10 minutes exactly. Total lemon fix! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Only a small hint of lemon & extremely dry. Added fresh lemon juice like others mentioned - won't be making these "drops" again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyLisa
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Great cookie, awesome lemon flavor! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyLisa
Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
On their own, these cookies were a failure. I iced them with the lemon cream cheese frosting on this website (see link on recipe page) which is incredible. It gave a much-needed flavor boost and made the cookies tolerably moist for the first day. The frosting was good enough to raise these to a 3 star rating. However, the texture of the cookies in this recipe is extremely dry and crumbly. After only 2 days, they were so dry as to be almost inedible. My advice is to save the lemon cream cheese frosting recipe and apply it on some better lemon cookies. I will not make this recipe again, as it was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
We have fixed the link to the frosting recipe for these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
pretty good , the link for the frosting doesn't work so I used a recipe for icing which ultimately ruined the cookie because it was too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
These cookies were so easy and yummy....a spring time favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KODOHERTY
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
These were good frosted with the lemon cream cheese frosting. I little dry, so they need the frosting. I don't think they would have been as good plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
These cookies, iced with the lemon cream cheese frosting are wonderful. The cookies are crumbly, however, and my son felt the cookies and the icing were a mismatch on weight. Although he's right, they are still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
These were amazing. I was a little unsure considering they have no eggs etc. I added 1/2 tsp of lemon extract to intensify the flavor and topped with a lemon buttercream frosting. I can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States