Lemon Drop II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lady Luck
Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I served these recently at a Ladies Only Nite. They got a AAA Rating from all of the girls. The variation was that I served the Lemon Drop II Martinis in a glass rimmed with sugar and used a lemon twist as a garnish! Absolutely Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
5/18/06----On the first one I rimmed my glass w/ powdered sugar but on the second, I used superfine granulated & I prefer that. The drink itself is rather tart but w/ the sugar on the glass it becomes sweet & tart. Yummm! I copied IHeartShane & used a lemon drop in place of the cherry & I also added a tiny sprig of mint. Beautiful drink & tasty too! UPDATE 5/31/06---I made this drink again tonight but instead of using the triple sec, I subbed 1/2 of the amount w/ lemon simple syrup (it's too sweet to use as much as I would triple sec) & then added just a bit more lemon juice. (Other than this change, I made it the same as the last review.) I also tried to be clever & garnished this w/ a couple of pieces of candied lemon peel. Don't do that. ;o) It rehydrated perfectly wonderful, addictive sugary lemon candies back into bitter, leathery lemon peels. The lemon simple syrup instead o the triple sec is a really good idea. The candied lemon peel garnish is a very bad idea. Oh well; you win some, you lose some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Quickly becoming one of my favorite drinks. I use bakers sugar to rim the glass and an actual lemon drop candy in place of the cherry. You can use half of the amount of triple sec and have good results as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
The first time I made these, I could have sworn they turned out ok. But this time they were just awful. I'm not sure what I did differently the first time, but this time I followed the recipe exactly and my husband actually poured his down the sink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Skaggs Frisone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This was ok. I left the maraschino cherries out because I don't care for them, which resulted in the drink tasting a little bland. Next time I'll try adding some grenadine or something to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
My husband and I did not care for this. This is usually my signature drink when I go out, so I was really dissapointed in this. It was way too strong and bitter. I even tried adding more lemon juice and sugar. Nothing helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
Didn't care for it. Not great, not horrible. A bit too strong for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Berry Slushy

See how to make a chilly lemon and berry slushy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States