Lemon Dreams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This is a yummy cookie! I used lemon extract instead of vanilla for the cookie. The indent does tent to puff out while they are cooking but not too bad. I also had trouble with the filling, the eggwhite clumped up on me the first try. The second try came out much better, but I know when making a lemon pie you just use egg yokes for the filling. I wonder if that would work better here. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The filling is delicious! It's the perfect combination of sweet/tart. I needed to add a bit more cornstarch to set up the filling more. I'm not a big fan of the shortbread crust, but that's just me. I'll change that next time, but the filling is SO GOOD that I'm giving it 5 stars anyway. Oh yeah, the wooden spoon to make indentations pools all the filling in the center. Use your thumb, or the scoop of a rounded teaspoon or melon baller instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Nobody mentioned what a pain in the neck it was to make the holes in the middle.....the dough crumbled or was sticky, depending on how chilled it was. Not sure if I'd go to the trouble again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Mmmm, loved eating them with my coffee!!! I did add 2tsp of Lemon juice to the cookie part because both my husband and I like plenty of lemon flavor. next time I will try to make the filling a little thicker so when i bite into it, it doesn't run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Delicious. I will make again. Very flaky and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
The only thing I did different was make a different dough for the base of the cookie. I used the dough recipe from the Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Cookie from this website. The filling I made the exact same. I love lemons----the filling is perfect. Not tart at all--perfect! Next time I will probably double the filling recipe as the indentations I made were rather large because I wanted a lot of lemon filling on the top. I was short on filling for 4 cookies. I also followed another reviewers advice and I made the indentation before putting them in the oven--and also when I took them out of the oven. This recipe is so easy! Also, my shortbread cookies never became golden on the outside----but they were golden on the bottom of the cookie. If I let them cook any longer they would've burned---so watch the underside of the cookie---not the outside! Also the filling never actually dries up completely---just thought some of you may want to know if you need to transport these. They taste exactly like lemon bars to me---just in cookie form. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
These were pretty good, but I thought that the lemon filling didn't stand up to the cookie very well. I was left desiring a little more lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Freeville, New York, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
great little cookies! Very light and crisp! I used the back of a teaspoon meauring spoon to make the indention and it worked like a charm! make sure you dip the teaspoon in flour before you press it into the cookie though, so it doesn't stick : ) tastes delightful and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
The cookie itself is dry & tasteless. The lemon filling , to us, was a little too tart & very "in-your-face" lemony(since the cookie has no flavor to balance it out). Not the worst cookie I've ever had, but I definately won't make any part of this recipe again. Sorry:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
These cookies are incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States