Lemon Dream Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This had mixed reviews, but not because the recipe isn't good - just some people are purists and didn't care for the additional of the nuts and coconut. My only addition is it needs more lemon, so I doubled both the lemon juice and the zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Excited to find this recipe which initially sounded like one my Grandmother used to make years ago. The shortbread type crust and filling were spot on, though with the 9 x 9 pan I was suprised that the filling layer was less than 1/2" thick, about half of what we are used to. I would possibly double up on the filling and slightly adjust the baking time to compensate. As for the topping, would have used 1 1/2 Cups powdered sugar, 1 Tablespoon butter, keep the lemon ingredients as is, and wait to frost until bars were just warm rather than hot, to create more of a distinct and creamy finish. Thank you for this recipe, which I made and rated, as given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCFOXY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Very tart and unetable. Stuck to pan, couldn't get it out without a knife! And I even sprayed the pan first! Definetly a NO BAKE. Sorry, Geri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geraldine

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I dislike coconut very much but when i saw this recipe i really wanted to try it, now i make it all the time! When ever i need a desert for an event i go right to the store knowing what i need for this recipe! It's great! I add a lot more lemon juice for the icing but other then that it is PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-Mae

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very good, however had to double on the icing as quantities in the recipe do not ever cover half of the bars. Otherwise, definitely to do over and over again as all the ingredients in the recipe are always in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chambly, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
These were very easy to make and very tasty. I substituted pecans for walnuts and added 2 tbsp lemon juice to the filling to make it more lemony. My boyfriend and I both said the exact same thing when we tried them "Strange, but good!" I served them to guests and everyone enjoyed them, although they didn't cut smoothly so they weren't as attractive as I would've liked. I will probably make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Sorry, but i did not like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I really loved this recipe. The baking of the walnut layer created a nice crunchy top & the nuts had a beautiful roasted flavour. I added a little more lemon zest (about three teaspoons) & a dash more juice, so the icing was really tangy & offset the sweetness of the rest of the dessert. I'll definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blfm94

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
These are a holiday favorite at my house. I recommend using fresh lemon juice & zest. Also, I've made them with pecans rather than walnuts, and they were equally good with either. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Pretty good dessert. Most liked it but probably won't make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States