Lemon Custard Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
A quick and easy and delicious cake for those of us who are crazy about lemon. This was a little sweet for our taste, so on our second attempt we cut the total sugar by half a cup, which gave us more of the tart, lemony tang we were looking for. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel
Living In: Pardes Hanna, Mehoz Hefa, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
this is a great recipe! it's easy and delicious!! however, i find that it's a still a tad too sweet even though i have reduced the sugar amount to 1 1/2 cups. and also, i find that the top browns kinda fast so i suggest that the pan to be covered loosely with a foil while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This recipe is absolutely divine!. I have made it 14 times now for my ladies who visit on Thursdays and they simply rave. What a delight and thanks to the cook who submitted it for my enjoyment! Mrs. Evelyn Parideis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is one of the better pudding cakes in Allrecipes! However, I did cut the sugar down 1/2 cup and might even try another 1/2 cup next time I make it. I prefer more of the lemon tartness to the sweet sweet lemon that this is. But, it is still one great recipe! Be sure and cover it with foil after you see it is golden brown; it will get too dark if you don't. Thanks to 'Mare' for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA1940

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
this was very interesting to make! even though i didn't have the right pan, i used a glass bowl, the recipe came out great! i followed the recipe to the mark and didn't think it was too sweet. however, i do really really really recommend covering the top loosely in foil as it browns too quickly. i made this for my cousin and husband who love lemon and they thought it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Very good! I used 5 inch ramekins, and they turned out beautifully. They weren't sweet enough, but after sprinkling the confectioner's sugar, it was delicious. I also made some mini tart pastry shells, but it didn't taste nearly as good with the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Waaay too SWEET! I like my lemon desserts TANGY! What I did: Used only 1.5 cups sugar (orig. 2cups) Used 3.5 TBS lemon juice (orig. 2 TBS) No zest (orig. 1 1/2 TBS) No powdered sugar (orig. 1/4 cup) Result: Too sweet. No lemon tang What I'd do next time: Use only 1 cup sugar (orig. 2 cups) 6+ TBS lemon juice (orig. 2 TBS) Use only 1 1/4 cup milk (depending on how much extra lemon juice added) (orig. 1 1/2 cups) I personally don't like zest (diminishes lemon tang/too bitter) but the cake part ,imo, was in need of something. So you just might want to maybe sprinkle some zest over top of cake just before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina G
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
my mom just made this, and followed the recipe exactly. It was probably the best cake that i have ever had! I loved the pudding at the bottom. It was not too tangy it was the perfect amount of sweet. I loved how light and fluffy it was. Even my little sisters, who are very picky eaters, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
How about 6 stars?! This recipe is really good, it's amazing how the cake forms on top of the pudding. I don't know what "lemon zest" is, so I just added more lemon juice and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinhais, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
(GLUTEN FREE OPTION!) My daughter made this yesterday following a few suggestions made by others as well as making it gluten free. Use fine white rice flour for the all-purpose. Use the zest and juice of 2 whole lemons. Cut back the milk to 1 cup. Cut sugar to 1-1/2 cups. Cover about 15 minutes into baking. We didn't eat it until after it had chilled in the fridge, so it had a stiffer texture than some of the pictures showed (and it's not a normal cake-like or pudding-like texture, so don't be surprised.) And, wow, absolutely delicious! We will definitely be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States