Lemon Custard Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
What a hit! Did not stop eating this until it was gone! I love it warm, so now I am making another one to see if it's as good cold. Can't imagine that I would enjoy this simple recipe so much. Thanx for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I don't know what I did wrong, but I didn't like this recipe. My husband did so I gave it a 3 star. It took too many bowls. After combining the first 3 ingred. I mixed it with an electric mixer, and by the time I added the egg yolks, the milk, lemon, and zest, the first 3 ingred had hardened so I could hardly mix the rest of it in together. It was all downhill from there. I'll never make it again even if my husband did like it. It was too much work for a really mediocre flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Very good! I used 5 inch ramekins, and they turned out beautifully. They weren't sweet enough, but after sprinkling the confectioner's sugar, it was delicious. I also made some mini tart pastry shells, but it didn't taste nearly as good with the pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tina G
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
my mom just made this, and followed the recipe exactly. It was probably the best cake that i have ever had! I loved the pudding at the bottom. It was not too tangy it was the perfect amount of sweet. I loved how light and fluffy it was. Even my little sisters, who are very picky eaters, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
In the words of my five year old "there isn't anything to exciting about this". I wanted it to be more tart and tangy, more like a curd. It was just o.k. The cake on top has a good flavor and comes out like an angel food cake. The pudding is more custard like. It was overall o.k. because I was really hoping for tart and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
A quick and easy and delicious cake for those of us who are crazy about lemon. This was a little sweet for our taste, so on our second attempt we cut the total sugar by half a cup, which gave us more of the tart, lemony tang we were looking for. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel
Living In: Pardes Hanna, Mehoz Hefa, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
this is a great recipe! it's easy and delicious!! however, i find that it's a still a tad too sweet even though i have reduced the sugar amount to 1 1/2 cups. and also, i find that the top browns kinda fast so i suggest that the pan to be covered loosely with a foil while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
How about 6 stars?! This recipe is really good, it's amazing how the cake forms on top of the pudding. I don't know what "lemon zest" is, so I just added more lemon juice and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinhais, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
This went over very BIG! Easy to make and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This recipe is absolutely divine!. I have made it 14 times now for my ladies who visit on Thursdays and they simply rave. What a delight and thanks to the cook who submitted it for my enjoyment! Mrs. Evelyn Parideis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States