Lemon Custard Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was very sweet. I didn't taste the lemon and I baked it 15 minutes beyond the designated time and there was a puddle of goo at the bottom of the baking dish. This is the third lemon recipe that I've tried from allrecipes that has failed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Amazing texture, and with a gluten-free flour blend (and 1/4 tsp xanthan gum), it was awesome. However, less sugar is needed! TIPS: Cook in lower third of oven for best rising, be certain that not a speck of yolk or fat is in the egg white bowl when whipping, let egg whites come to room temperature before beating, and Do NOT eliminate the sugar from the egg white mixture, as it (chemistry-wise) contributes to stability/firmness, but we did leave out 1/2 cup from the flour mixture. I am unsure of how much the sugar contributes to the texture of the cake portion, but will attempt to play around with the sugar (less), flour (more), and tang (more) proportions. Otherwise this is a true winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was wonderful and better than expected! But there were complaints ---- not big enough for 2nd helpings. Next time, I'll double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
""YUMMO"" enough said!!! I just made this and it is scrumptious. I reduced the sugar so as to have more tang then sweet. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soundwrite01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This was GREAT....will make it again in the summer. So light and refreshing. Was quick and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Elegant! Very pleased with the results. Tried it with lime too and was equally lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
(GLUTEN FREE OPTION!) My daughter made this yesterday following a few suggestions made by others as well as making it gluten free. Use fine white rice flour for the all-purpose. Use the zest and juice of 2 whole lemons. Cut back the milk to 1 cup. Cut sugar to 1-1/2 cups. Cover about 15 minutes into baking. We didn't eat it until after it had chilled in the fridge, so it had a stiffer texture than some of the pictures showed (and it's not a normal cake-like or pudding-like texture, so don't be surprised.) And, wow, absolutely delicious! We will definitely be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I recently made this delightful cake for a girl's night. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and decreased the sugar by 1/2 cup, and also increased the lemon zest to the zest of one lemon. Served chilled, this is the perfect summer dessert: cool, sweet and tangy. I'll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
We loved this unusual cake. I followed the recipe exactly, but next time I'll lower the sugar and increase the lemon. I think that's just personal preference. The consistency was so good...pudding on the bottom and fluffy cake on the top. Another change I'll make next time is that I'll cover the pan because it did get quite brown on top. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was an interesting cake to make. It was good but not a cake I would make again. My family was not especially fond of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States