Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
What a wonderful recipe! Such silkiness, and a delightfully tangy (but not overpowering) flavor. And in answer to another reviewer's question. Yes, you can make this with Splenda. I used 1/4 cup sugar and 3/4 cup splenda to cut down on the sugar. It came out great! Another tip: get a zester/grater! It cuts way down on the time spent zesting a lemon, and the size of the zest is perfect! No need to strain at all. You can also easily get only the zest and none of the bitter white underlayer of the lemon peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Deliciously lemony. Simple list of ingredients. Great for biscuits, vanilla ice cream or turned over raspberries. Note: the curd set "better" when I blended the sugar and eggs together, away from heat, prior to adding to a warm pot. I melted the butter in the pot before I added the sugar/egg mixture. I then lowered the heat a bit, and stirred periodically to prevent any egg white bits from forming. This seemed to take about 5 mintues longer but I've made it four times yesterday, and the best 'sets' were the ones where I did it this way. I poured the curd into clean jars. I could tell the curd was perfectly 'set' in the jar when the color was a light yellow, like the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contemporary Parent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Nice flavor, but the techniwque did not work for me. I finally had to put it in a saucepan and bring it to a boil for it to finally thicken. And then strain out the lemon peel and any egg white pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Easy and delicious! I used this curd as filling for a lemon meringue cupcake and it was amazing! This is my go-to lemon curd recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Wonderful, versatile stuff! I've been making it exactly to the recipe for a couple of years and have used it on scones, breads, gingerbread (oh, yeah!!!), etc. etc. Just now noticed Ann's review saying she canned this. Would you be interested in sharing how you did that? I can over 500 jars of jams and jellies every year for my church Bazaar and folks often ask for Lemon curd. Care to share??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Brilliant, just brilliant. I'd only bottled lemon juice on hand, and the curd was fantastic even without the zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Oh my holy goodness. This is heaven on a spoon. I want there to always be a jar of this in my refrigerator. I actually canned this recipe and plan to include it in a lemon-themed gift basket (homemade lemon handscrub, lemon-thyme salt, etc.) for several Christmas gifts. So glad I had a little leftover for myself! This was super easy. I doubled the recipe and it made 4--1/2 pint jars with about 1/3 cup leftover. I added 2 large lemons worth of zest. I WILL be making this again soon! And next time I'll triple it! If you want to can this, here's a good resource: http://nchfp.uga.edu/publications/nchfp/factsheets/lemon_curd.pdf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Easy and delicious. Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
From fresh Meyer lemons off my mom's tree, I used this recipe to make a super yummy lemon tart. Added a dollop of freshly whipped cream and a sprinkle of sliced strawberries. My guests had seconds--they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Super easy! I'm using this as a cake filling and it thickens nicely. It's like a liquid lemon meringue. I used vegan butter, and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States