Lemon Curd Tassies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2000
I made these for my bridesmaid's tea. They went over really well! I made the filling the night before and then baked the shells that morning. The recipe was really easy to follow but I found out to use a "mini muffin" tin for better results, since I didn't have the "proper" pan. The filling is excellent, although I didn't care for the taste of the shell too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
this was a very tasty dessert and i thoroughly enjoyed it. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
Very yummy! I did not have a mini muffin tin, so we used a regular muffin tin. They were more like tarts. Curd was delicious. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Very good recipe. A nice light dessert for spring. I topped each with a tsp. of Cool Whip and toasted almonds for a nicer presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I might have not rolled the dough enough but I could barely get 2 dozen tarts when I used smaller cutters than specified in the directions. Next time I would double the tart dough recipe and absolutely use the 3-inch cutter as the tart shrinks quite a bit after baking. Other than that, these are awesome. Just enough lemon to sweetness flavour!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2004
This recipe was such a disappointment. I was craving something like this, but alas...it flopped. The curd never thickened...even after filling the tart shells and chilling it. Nice flavor, but sad turnout altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
These were easy to make, but time consuming. I made them in mini muffin tins, so they were a perfect accent on a cookie tray. I did not put the slivered almonds on top, but sprinkled powdered sugar, as I do on lemon bars. That was the perfect sweet tough to the tart lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
These are GREAT! Good tart taste and not too hard. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This review is only for the Lemon Curd. I used a separate recipe for the shell. I will try this shell recipe in the future though. The Lemon Curd is absolutly fabulous. The flavor is just perfect. I did use fresh squeezed lemon juice. And after the 15 minutes cooking time, my filling was still just as soupy as when I started. So I increased the heat and brought it to a quick boil and then removed from heat. It thickend right up. I would have liked it to be a little firmer, so maybe I will increase the boil time when I make again. I live at high altitude so maybe that is why it didn't thicken right. Will definately be used again and again. We love lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HLKane

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I gave this three stars because I followed the recipe exactly and the filling would not thicken up no matter what I tried. I was so desperate at one point that I added some corn starch with a little water and they still wouldnt get thick. As far as flavor, they are good but too runny for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsm103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States