Lemon Curd Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I got a jar of lemon curd from my mother-in-law and having never tasted it before, decided to try it in this recipe. As someone who generally doesn't like lemon-flavored desserts, I was skeptical about trying it, but I am so glad I did! My pan was a bit smaller than the one listed in the recipe, so the topping ended up being a bit thicker (like a crumble) but no one seemed to mind! Be sure to mix until the dough is nice and crumbly, as the bigger chunks of butter will make the taste of the bars uneven. I used less butter (2-3 T. less) the second time and it turned out just as good. I also replaced the chopped almonds with shaved almonds, making the topping less crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Too much crust, not enough lemon! I left out ~ 1/4 of the top layer crust, and it was still too much of the dough aspect, and not enough flavor. I would suggest doubling the lemon curd and keeping the amount of dough the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Great basic bar recipe but I leave out the baking soda in the crust because it is not necessary. Also, when time permits, homemade lemon curd is the best. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This was good, but like a few others said, I thought the crust was too buttery/greasy. If you're expecting a "lemon bar", this isn't it at all. A very different version--think lemon dessert bar. Ours wasn't too sweet at all, so it really depends on what kind of lemon curd you use. Homemade vs. several different brands out there= different levels of tartness. I used Trader Joe's curd and would've like it a little more lemony, so would use some lemon zest in the curd or the topping. I'd also cut the butter down by at least 25%. I'd also be interested in trying the crust w/baking powder as one reviewer mentioned. It's a good dessert bar but I think it could be excellent with some changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Excellent bar cookie, crunchy, light, great lemony flavor and so easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
THIS WAS SO GOOD i put one zest of lemon in for extra coz i the curd i had was not very lemonny. I would definately try this again and the next time i try it, i would use a little more lemon zest and lessent the amount of butter by half or 1/3. It was a bit too oily and buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcrissohot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Ohhhh, so good. Hubs even liked them and he generally doesn't like lemon period...except squeezed on fish. I halved the recipe (used 8x8 pan) and used almost a full can of lemon pie filling, to which I added the juice and zest from half a lemon to freshen it up. Because I knew these would be a more delicate bar dessert, I used sliced almonds rather than chopped, and I was more than pleased with the modifications I made. Rich and buttery, refreshingly lemony, not too sweet, pretty and perfect little dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Yum! Made them in a 9x9 pan and had to increase 2nd baking time by 15 minutes. 5 star delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodieGeek
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
Wow....these are super lemony! I used a homemade lemon curd, other than that I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Sorry, I was disappointed in this bar. The lemon curd flavor was so strong you couldn't taste the coconut. The shortbread layers seemed dry. I wouldn't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Foust

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States