Lemon Curd Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
GREAT as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Sooooo good! I zested a lemon and used it in the flour mixture. It added an extra lemon taste to the bars. The cookie base would be great with raspberry or lime filling too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiegus
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Mmm...this recipe is a delicious and easy use for my leftover lemon curd! My curd didn't originally turn out so well (too thin), but it didn't matter with this recipe. I was expecting a bit more tartness, but as the other reviews stated, this is more of a dessert bar than a tart lemon bar. Love the shortbread-esque crust! I used baking powder, instead of soda, as suggested in reviews, and mine turned out great. Yummy warm, but I bet it will be great cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Loved this treat. So easy to make and quick too. Kid approved also. Plus I shared with coworkers and they thought I was a gourmet cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Loved the recipe but left out the B.S. The lemon curd is a great timesaver. However, as an older (and now wiser) person with kidney and blood pressure problems, this amount of UNNEEDED baking soda equals 25% of a normal person's daily need of sodium/salt; 1 tsp = 1231mg. (Also, [but not in this recipe, now y'all!] 1 tsp baking powder is 20% of the RDA for salt.) Most people don't realize that these two unnoticed (and oft unnecessary) convenience leavening agents are one of the reasons that folks have problems controlling their blood pressures. This is a great recipe (...except...if it needs a touch of salt, why not use a potassium-based salt substitute, which will "protect" and offset the sodium consumption? (Think about WHY hypertension has skyrocketed since the invention of these lovely products.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This recipe is wonderful. I make homemade lemon curd then use it for these bars = delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is the best lemon bar I've ever had. Followed the recipe exactly except I used baking powder, not soda and my crust was perfect. Made them for a party last night and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I made these according to the recipe except that I used 14.25oz of lemon curd (the whole jar). These bars are wonderful! Now the kids want them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Discovered I did not have enough flour to make these delicate treats, so I only used half the butter. I'm still adjusting to a microwave without a soften cycle, so the butter melted, and my crust was more like dough. Used 2/3 as recommended in a smaller pan, added some powdered sugar to lemon curd, then added more powdered sugar and coconut only to the remaining mixture to get it crumblike for the top crust. My husband couldn't wait to sample them, then wanted more. He thought they were great. Final test will be sharing them with our church family this morning. I thought they were very good, but prefer my homemade lemon bar filling so will try the crust with that filling the next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is my first review. These lemon curd bars are awesome, but I would probably add twice the curd than the recipe called for next time. (Another reviewer said she'd use baking powder vice baking soda -- I'm curious about the difference between the two?) Anyway, the almond & coconut topping added crunch & made for great texture. Hope the crew I made these for agrees as we sail 1500 miles non-stop from Hampton, Va., to the British Virgins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States