Lemon Curd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made this this afternoon, but since I do not have a double boiler nor any way to rig one up, I just did it on direct but low flame. I whisked it steadily for about 10 minutes over the heat and it was barely any thicker than when I started but it had thickened a bit. I poured it into a container and stuck it in the fridge. 2 hours later it was like a slightly thin jelly, so it is setting up thicker, but taking its sweet time. Flavor is fantastic though and will make this again for sure. I am curious to know how this would be with slightly less sugar- its super sweet as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Leigh Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
this lemon curd has a tangy sweet taste, going to used on top pf lemon pancakes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyle Hanson
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I was given a lemon bar ice cream sandwich recipes that calls for lemon curd this will be my first time making or using it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Young

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I just made this. I only had 1/4 cup of lemon juice, so I just adjusted down to compensate. 3/4 cup sugar and 2 eggs and 2-3 tablespoons of butter. I will add the zest tomorrow since I don't have a lemon at the moment. It tastes awesome. It took considerably longer than 10 minutes before it thickened. The reason why some people never get it to thicken is because of their stove and the type of bowl they used. Many glass bowls take a lot longer to heat up than the metal does due to the thickness of most Pyrex mixing bowls. I ended up putting mine on 4 instead of 2(where it says simmer on the stove) and whisking it constantly. I ended up with not a single lump. It couldn't of came out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Roberson
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
The taste is excellent and it was so easy to make. However, I stirred it on the double boiler for 20 minutes and it didn't thicken at all. No problem, I just put it in a pot over the direct heat, stirred it vigorously and it thickened right up. Also I used a metal whisk (because I didn't read the authors note until I was done cooking), and there is no metallic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was good and really easy to make. It didn't turn out quite as thick as I would have hoped but will work fine for my needs. It's quite sweet - not in a bad way, I love sweet, but when I make lemon-something, I want a bit more tang. I could eat this as a sweet pudding by itself, but I made it to use as a layer in a ricotta-cream 'cake' with lady fingers, and would have liked more tang for this purposes. Still, it's good, no real complaints and I'd probably make again reducing the sugar a little, or upping the lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Good, simple, and extremely reliable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I used meyer lemons which gave it less of a tang. I like it but prefer the tang. Gave it 5 stars because with regular lemons it would be that for me! Turned out great. If your still having runny curd after 20 minutes of stirring your heat may not be high enough. It should thicken with the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I use this recipe a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
i used the microwave, stirring every 5 or 10 seconds. It came out great. It thickened right about 180 degrees. I like to stir it into plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States