Lemon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I usually do not try recipes that have not been reviewed but I was out of time and this was the first 'from scratch' non chocolate cupcake recipe I came across. It was worth it. They were fluffy, not dry, and delicious. Slightly 'crisp' on the outside and moist on the inside. Tasted like they were from a bakery and not from a box. I did make a few substitutions but I don't think it effected it. I did not have self rising flour and used regular white flour but added 1 tsp baking powder for every cup of flour plus added an additional half tsp of salt. I also did not have lemons but used lemon juice (store bought) and halved the amount for the zest. This review is for the cupcake as I had left over frosting and so used that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I thought these were really good. This cupcake is more of a grownup cupcake, something you'd serve adults. The batter for these cupcakes was awesome. My daughter could not stop eating the batter, she thought the cupcakes were good but would have preferred just eating the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
These cupcakes were delicious and everyone just ate them up! The cake with this whipped cream frosting was a light lemon-not over powering. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
everyone loved this! Smells good, tastes even better. I added 1 more tbsp of lemon zest and 2 more tbsp of lemon juice. It's perfect even without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I just made these and they came out perfect. I added a spoonful of vanilla pudding in the middle of each cupcake before icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiWi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I baked this into a cake. Very light and yummy.. The lemon taste is very mild. I like the tang of lemon but mild is also nice.. Will definitely be making it again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I made this without the lemon icing (I made them for my wedding with cream cheese frosting just so all cupcakes would match). PERFECT lemon cupcakes! If I ever make them again I would use the icing in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Making these I was back in my Nanna's kitchen as she creamed by hand the butter and sugar to make the lightest most delicious cup cakes. Was tempted to half the butter as suggested..it was for a special occasion with a sensational result. Did add the extra lemon juice and rind and am thinking next time to maybe add a little more. Love the recipe. At last cup cakes like Nanna made. Can you picture your Nanna bowl in the crook of her elbow creaming the butter and sugar with the heat of her hand? Not acceptable these days and yet we weren't ever ill. Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These were wonderful. I was very skeptical about the sour cream, but the consistency of the batter and the finished cupcake were really perfect. They're even better after they're been refrigerated! I added extra zest and a touch of fresh squeezed lemon juice. I used the Lemon Icing from this site instead of the one in the recipe, and the frosting was very sweet, but I thought they went together very nicely. I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These cupcakes were so light and fluffy, I don't like lemon desserts but my husband loves all things lemon. I took a bite to make sure they were okay to serve. Boy oh Boy was I pleasantly surprised... these are the best cupcakes EVER. Unbelievably good. Try them you'll be happy you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DULLAH

Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States