Lemon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I usually do not try recipes that have not been reviewed but I was out of time and this was the first 'from scratch' non chocolate cupcake recipe I came across. It was worth it. They were fluffy, not dry, and delicious. Slightly 'crisp' on the outside and moist on the inside. Tasted like they were from a bakery and not from a box. I did make a few substitutions but I don't think it effected it. I did not have self rising flour and used regular white flour but added 1 tsp baking powder for every cup of flour plus added an additional half tsp of salt. I also did not have lemons but used lemon juice (store bought) and halved the amount for the zest. This review is for the cupcake as I had left over frosting and so used that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
340 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I did not have self rising flour , so I used all purpose with 1 tsp baking powder for each cup of flour, and used orange juice and orange zest instead of the lemon. Its one of the most delicious and moist cupcakes I have ever made and its one for keeps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
everyone loved this! Smells good, tastes even better. I added 1 more tbsp of lemon zest and 2 more tbsp of lemon juice. It's perfect even without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Oh my! I always cut the fat/butter in every single recipe by 1/2 - dessert or savory - and have no problem. However, since this was my son's 1st birthday and I wanted the cupcakes to be PERFECT, I decided to bite the bullet and put in the whole amount! CRAZY! WAAAAY too much butter! The oils were leaking through the paper liners! That was disappointing. I will make them again but next time? MY way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I love these cupcakes!! I've made them twice in the last month, and was thrilled with them both times. They are slightly dense, but I think that is typical of baked goods made from scratch. The 2nd time I made them I added a bit more lemon juice, and my husband said they were even better. Don't worry if you don't have the self-rising flour - adding a tsp of baking powder for each cup of flour works just fine. And I loved the lemony whipped cream frosting. Terrific! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I thought these were really good. This cupcake is more of a grownup cupcake, something you'd serve adults. The batter for these cupcakes was awesome. My daughter could not stop eating the batter, she thought the cupcakes were good but would have preferred just eating the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I just made these and they came out perfect. I added a spoonful of vanilla pudding in the middle of each cupcake before icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiWi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I'll give this four stars instead of three for two reasons: one, I didn't use self-rising flour, which might have contributed to how dense they turned out (quite disappointing, considering I was expecting something light and fluffy); and two, because they got better the longer I kept them. I used a recipe for raspberry buttercream that I had on hand and the flavors worked beautifully together, especially after a day or two in the fridge, and went great with a cup of unsweetened tea. A lot of people thought they were too sweet, but I liked them well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
These were light, fluffy, lemony, and delicious! Unfortunately I overfilled my small cupcake tins, and the tops became crusty and dry. Do NOT fill them any more than 3/4 as the self-rising flour definitely rises! I made plain icing and flavored it with the left over lemon juice and zest. It you like your cupcakes sweet, then icing is a must--The batter would also work well for lemon poppy seed muffins, I think, because my cupcakes, at least, weren't super sweet. The batter by itself was great, too though--definitely take the time to lick the spoon! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This is a beautiful cake I would not hesitate to recommend or to make again. It’s moist, not too fluffy yet not too dense. It has that wonderful richness only butter can contribute and just the right level of fresh citrus flavor (I used lime rather than lemon). I did take the plunge and buy self-rising flour for these, as my understanding is the protein content is different – much closer to cake flour than all purpose. In other words, just adding leaveners to all purpose flour supposedly won’t duplicate it exactly even tho’ it's an acceptable substitute. I frosted these with Easy Cream Cheese Frosting, also from this site, to which I added a tablespoon of grated lime zest. This cake and that frosting? The perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 251) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States