Lemon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I usually do not try recipes that have not been reviewed but I was out of time and this was the first 'from scratch' non chocolate cupcake recipe I came across. It was worth it. They were fluffy, not dry, and delicious. Slightly 'crisp' on the outside and moist on the inside. Tasted like they were from a bakery and not from a box. I did make a few substitutions but I don't think it effected it. I did not have self rising flour and used regular white flour but added 1 tsp baking powder for every cup of flour plus added an additional half tsp of salt. I also did not have lemons but used lemon juice (store bought) and halved the amount for the zest. This review is for the cupcake as I had left over frosting and so used that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
342 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I thought these were really good. This cupcake is more of a grownup cupcake, something you'd serve adults. The batter for these cupcakes was awesome. My daughter could not stop eating the batter, she thought the cupcakes were good but would have preferred just eating the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I just made these and they came out perfect. I added a spoonful of vanilla pudding in the middle of each cupcake before icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KiWi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
everyone loved this! Smells good, tastes even better. I added 1 more tbsp of lemon zest and 2 more tbsp of lemon juice. It's perfect even without the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Oh my! I always cut the fat/butter in every single recipe by 1/2 - dessert or savory - and have no problem. However, since this was my son's 1st birthday and I wanted the cupcakes to be PERFECT, I decided to bite the bullet and put in the whole amount! CRAZY! WAAAAY too much butter! The oils were leaking through the paper liners! That was disappointing. I will make them again but next time? MY way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
These were light, fluffy, lemony, and delicious! Unfortunately I overfilled my small cupcake tins, and the tops became crusty and dry. Do NOT fill them any more than 3/4 as the self-rising flour definitely rises! I made plain icing and flavored it with the left over lemon juice and zest. It you like your cupcakes sweet, then icing is a must--The batter would also work well for lemon poppy seed muffins, I think, because my cupcakes, at least, weren't super sweet. The batter by itself was great, too though--definitely take the time to lick the spoon! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
I'll give this four stars instead of three for two reasons: one, I didn't use self-rising flour, which might have contributed to how dense they turned out (quite disappointing, considering I was expecting something light and fluffy); and two, because they got better the longer I kept them. I used a recipe for raspberry buttercream that I had on hand and the flavors worked beautifully together, especially after a day or two in the fridge, and went great with a cup of unsweetened tea. A lot of people thought they were too sweet, but I liked them well enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Making these I was back in my Nanna's kitchen as she creamed by hand the butter and sugar to make the lightest most delicious cup cakes. Was tempted to half the butter as suggested..it was for a special occasion with a sensational result. Did add the extra lemon juice and rind and am thinking next time to maybe add a little more. Love the recipe. At last cup cakes like Nanna made. Can you picture your Nanna bowl in the crook of her elbow creaming the butter and sugar with the heat of her hand? Not acceptable these days and yet we weren't ever ill. Carol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
These were wonderful. I was very skeptical about the sour cream, but the consistency of the batter and the finished cupcake were really perfect. They're even better after they're been refrigerated! I added extra zest and a touch of fresh squeezed lemon juice. I used the Lemon Icing from this site instead of the one in the recipe, and the frosting was very sweet, but I thought they went together very nicely. I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
They were okay. Light but a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States