Lemon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Seriously... this is the best lemon cupcake recipe i have ever tried!! They are amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daafie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter, but these were horrible. They were very dense. Cupcakes did not go well with the lemon whip cream, which was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
These came out nicely. I made 1 5/8-inch mini-cupcakes, and I was able to get 7 dozen out of this recipe. I had major problems with the icing, as the cream kept curdling when I added the lemon juice. I tried that two times and ended up tossing it. Instead, I made icing from butter and confectioner's sugar, adding just a little cream and NO lemon juice. I added one teaspoon of baking powder per cup of all-purpose flour. That seemed to work out fine. Some bakers said these were super-sweet or that they were super-oily. Neither was the case on my cupcakes. I actually would have liked them a tad more moist and maybe a touch sweeter and more lemony. I put a single blueberry on the tops of some of them, some almonds on the tops of others, and some yellow sugar on the tops of the rest. They looked cute on the tray. I tried uploading a picture, but I am having technical difficulties. In summary, with the change in icing, they were very nice and they went like hotcakes at book club, with everybody raving about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This isn't the recipe's fault, but BEWARE of the self-rising flour issue. I used standard flour, and as there's no rising agent (soda, b.powder), I had flat, dense cupcakes. Excellent flavor, but not fluffy and light like a cupcake should be. Beginner error, but if you're in a hurry and don't pay attention, the cupcakes won't turn out. Also, the lemon zest caramelized inside the cupcakes and became chewy- not what you really want, either. I'm guessing had the cupcakes puffed up like they should have, the lemon zest would have also been OK, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
A hit every time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I made these as an after-game snack for the superbowl party, and everyone was super impressed at how perfectly moist and fluffy they turned out. Seriously, these are bakery-quality! The only thing is that you can't over-fill, otherwise they come out a bit soggy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
It was amazing! Fluffy, perfectly cooked! The recipe I didn't follow exact like I didn't have self rising flour so I used all purpose flour and added 1 tsp of baking powder and a pinch of salt for each cup but the cupcakes came out amazing! Definitely a must try!!! I cut up a lemon and put the slices on top of the cupcake because instead of doing a swirl on my cupcakes, I dipped them into the frosting and put the lemon on top for a fabulous decoration! (The zest definitely pulls the flavors and look together!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Moist, slightly dense, flavor not too strong and not too mild. Frosting had a funny look to it by the time all the mixing was done, but still tasted great and looked good on the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Delicious. We used more lemon juice and rind and halved the recipe. We used the recipe for strawberry frosting on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Yummie cupcakes. If you can ignore the copious amounts of butter/sugar, the taste is delicious. I added a bit too much extra lemon, and it was a bit tangier than I was hoping for, but still delicious. Frosting was nice, but not necessary because the cake was flavorful enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKMONKI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Candy Corn Cupcakes

Make these super simple and cute candy corn cupcakes for Halloween!

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States