Lemon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Such an absolutely gorgeous, easy, fool-proof recipe ... and it made mouth-wateringly delicious cupcakes! They're a breeze to make - I made very minor modifications: I cut back the sugar to 1.5 cups, reduced the butter to 3/4 cup, and added nearly 8-9 tbsps of lemon juice. It wasn't in the least too-lemony, and even people who aren't fond of citrus cakes agreed that these were lovely and perfect. As these were give-aways, I took the advise of a buzzer and stabilised the whipped icing. I also gave it my own twist by skipping the lemon juice and adding strawberry flavoured jello powder into it instead. (I used the Stabilised Whipped Cream Icing recipe from this site to guide me with making the icing. Since I only wanted a swirl of icing in the midst of each cupcake, I only used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream.) I got raving reviews for these, and they looked beautiful. Thank you so much for this FriedBlueTomato! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I like the texture of the cake and subtle lemon flavor. To the icing I added grated lemon peel to enhance the flavor. Overall these are good, but next time I will use lemon extract for more of that luscious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by kay ??
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I tried this- it's my first baking attempt! The cupcakes turned out great. I skipped the icing, and I reduced the sugar to 300g instead. The end result was good, the cupcakes weren't too sweet. But I would definitely add at least double the amount of lemon juice, because the current recipe only gives a slight lemon hint! Definitely going to try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
The texture is lovely and they are indeed nice and fluffy but they don't taste lemony at all. I did not make the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
They turned out perfect I just added a little less sugar and butter because it suits my taste, I really hope everyone else likes it as much as I did!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Light, fluffy and melt in mouth! Absolutely gorgeous light lemon flavor. My cupcakes tend to be a hit and miss ( beginner's luck on the hits) so I took the advice of getting a kitchen measuring scale, converted cups to gms and followed directions. This recipe is PERFECT! What started with a batch of 12 dwindled to 7 before I could get the icing in place. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Seriously... this is the best lemon cupcake recipe i have ever tried!! They are amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daafie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I followed the recipe to the letter, but these were horrible. They were very dense. Cupcakes did not go well with the lemon whip cream, which was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
These came out nicely. I made 1 5/8-inch mini-cupcakes, and I was able to get 7 dozen out of this recipe. I had major problems with the icing, as the cream kept curdling when I added the lemon juice. I tried that two times and ended up tossing it. Instead, I made icing from butter and confectioner's sugar, adding just a little cream and NO lemon juice. I added one teaspoon of baking powder per cup of all-purpose flour. That seemed to work out fine. Some bakers said these were super-sweet or that they were super-oily. Neither was the case on my cupcakes. I actually would have liked them a tad more moist and maybe a touch sweeter and more lemony. I put a single blueberry on the tops of some of them, some almonds on the tops of others, and some yellow sugar on the tops of the rest. They looked cute on the tray. I tried uploading a picture, but I am having technical difficulties. In summary, with the change in icing, they were very nice and they went like hotcakes at book club, with everybody raving about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This isn't the recipe's fault, but BEWARE of the self-rising flour issue. I used standard flour, and as there's no rising agent (soda, b.powder), I had flat, dense cupcakes. Excellent flavor, but not fluffy and light like a cupcake should be. Beginner error, but if you're in a hurry and don't pay attention, the cupcakes won't turn out. Also, the lemon zest caramelized inside the cupcakes and became chewy- not what you really want, either. I'm guessing had the cupcakes puffed up like they should have, the lemon zest would have also been OK, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States