Lemon Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Just OK. The cake is not very lemony. We didn't care for the whipped icing. We prefer lemon buttercream. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I had been looking for a light and fluffy cupcake recipe and can say that I found it. These cupcakes are so light that I could eat them all. The lemony flavor makes them extra delicious. I did not have whole milk available and decided to mix heavy cream and non fat milk... this made them extra fluffy. Maybe next time I would add some more lemon zest and juice. Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This was my first attempt of making something from scratch, and it turned out amazing!! I added lemon oil extract to intensify the flavour and also used organic flour with baking powder for it to rise. For fun I added color to the icing to spice up the look. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Delicious! I did not even follow the recipe very well and they still turned out great. I had to bake in a kitchen that was not my own and did not have a lot of the stuff I needed. Ended up using all-purpose flour (unsifted as I didn't have a sifter to use), and added a little baking powder as other reviewers suggested. I also didn't have the proper measuring cups/spoons so had to guesstimate quite a bit (one 1/2 cup was all I had). Added a little bit (maybe 2 T.?) of vegetable oil as I find that my homemade cakes usually turn out a little dry. Also, I had some problems with a quirky gas oven and had to bake them a lot longer than stated, and at a higher temp. And yes, even with all this they STILL tasted great!!! I imagine if I had done everything properly they would have been divine, bakery quality cupcakes. I think it's a real testament to the recipe that they turned out so well despite everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Perfect lemon cupcake recipe. Totally delish. However I wasn't a lover of the whipped icing - wish I would have used a buttercream. I crushed Lemon Heads and sprinkled on top of the icing also - decorative and yummy addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
It's amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
This is the best lemon cake recipe. It has just the right amount of lemon. Instead of lemon cream icing, I just use powered sugar icing, flavored with a little lemon juice. It is delicious. I have made this recipe in cupcakes, bundt cake, and a 9x11 sheet cake. It turns out great any way it is made. For the sheet cake I just dumped all the ingredients in one bowl then put it in the pan and cook it for about 40 minutes. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I really liked these. I have made them as written and I have made them with a few alterations. Egg white only& add 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract double lemon zest. That's my favorite. Either way great easy recipe. Thanks for shareing. Maybe I will try the frosting one time. I usually just put them into a zip lock bag and let the natural sugars create a glossy top. Goooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueannP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made the batter in the food processor and mis read the instructions and didn't put the lemon juice in and they still turned out great. My husband and son are busy eating the whole batch and I don't think there will be any left to frost. I'm happy to have found a good lemon cupcake recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This is on the denser side for cakes. When I tried to peel it off the paper liner, it looked exactly like a muffin. This is not very lemony. Next time, I think I'll add another tablespoon lemon zest and maybe a extra 1/2 tsp baking soda to lighten the dense texture a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 262) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Sweetheart Cupcakes

These colorful cupcakes are the perfect way to impress your sweetheart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States