Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by romi
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I reduced the servings to yield half and made mini cupcake instead of regular sized ones, resulting in about 30 mini cupcakes. I personally found the icing and cupcakes too sweet but that can be easily fixed. Overall great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
These were quite tasty. I didn't have lemons on hand, so I used the basic recipe and altered it to make lime cupcakes. I used the juice and zest of 2 limes in place of the lemon in the cupcakes. I made them with a lime frosting because I had neither blackberries nor blackberry jam. Then frosting was: whip 1 cup margarine (I didn't have any butter). Add the juice of 1 lime and the zest of 2 limes. A little at a time add powdered sugar enough to make pipable frosting. Garnish with lime zest and a tiny wedge of lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Lichty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
The cake part was delicious it had a nice zesty taste thanks to the lemon, but I felt like the frosting was way to "buttery" almost greasy. Only modification was cutting down the butter in the frosting. Over wise amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
We'll
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made the cake portion of this cake exactly as instructed and it was moist and delicious. I did not have jam to make the frosting, but used 3 Tb of lemon juice and lemon zest in place of the jam and omitted the vanilla and it was super tasty and complimented the cake very well. I made a cake instead of cupcakes because I didn't have cupcake liners. It fit nicely in my smaller 9x5 pan. I will be making this again really soon as it was gone in one night. On a side note...I used a large lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Made these for "Boss Day". Very well received...was told they belong in a display case!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PIZZAMYHEART
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Tasty and refreshing cupcakes! The recipe yielded 24 minis and 6 regular cupcakes. I divided the icing recipe in half and added half an 8 oz container of cream cheese to it. I had just enough icing, so none went to waste. Although I tasted quite a bit while making it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIZZAMYHEART

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I tried this recipe using a few of the suggestions, but the texture did not seem quite right for one reason or another. It might be me, or it might be one of the changes I made. Also, some of them were short in the end, so perhaps they just got over-baked. The texture was similar to that of a muffin rather than cupcake. I added more milk and less baking powder as some suggested, but this was the result. I am certain it can be corrected. However, the frosting was amazing. When I tried it, even before the jam, it did not just taste of butter, it was very sweet though. I added more jam than just the 1/2 cup in the end because I wanted a stronger blackberry flavor. The frosting was actually my favorite part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon McCafferty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
These cupcakes come out pretty dense, with an almost pound cake consistency. The lemon flavor is quite enjoyable. For us, the recipe made 22 cupcakes, but they were dense and did not rise to full size. Because they are rich and dense, this wasn't a problem. The icing recipe makes more than enough to swirl liberally on top to give it height. We would make this again--even my coworkers loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I tried out this recipe not to long ago and it took very short time for prep.I was very happy with the recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States