Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I really loved this recipe. I used cake flour and added the zest and juice of 2 lemons because I wanted a more intense lemon flavour. I also used strawberry jam because that was what I had on hand and it was really yummy. It made 12 cupcakes and I halved the icing and there was still plenty left over. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
simple and delicious! unique twist on a standard cupcake, and they look beautiful when done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Outstanding recipe. I halved the recipe and only got 7 cupcakes. I also did the raspberry jam for the icing. Great results. Lemony flavor and light and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is just a review for the cupcake, I made a lighter, strawberry whipped cream + gelatin frosting instead of the jam buttercream. After the batter was mixed up, I had doubts, it was just too darn easy, there were no whipped egg whites, no multi bowl directions, i.e., having one bowl for egg whites, another for the wet ingredients and another for the dry, this was a one bowl recipe. I diverged just a bit, not in ingredients, those I followed exactly, but in the execution, I mixed in the baking powder before adding the flower and mixed the lemon zest in with the sugar, being sure to squeeze them a bit, hoping to extract even more lemon flavor. The cupcakes didn't rise as much as I expected, I ended up with 12 smallish cupcakes and 4 regular size (after filling the first tray, I decided to fill the baking cups higher on the second batch so that I'd have fuller, above the paper brim cupcakes this time). Before making the frosting, I tested one cupcake, it was light, spongy and had a nice hint of lemony flavor. All in all, a lovely little cake. Since the cakes are so light and airy, I think they could stand up to a heavier frosting, something cream cheese based. I chose a whipped frosting because that is what my family prefers, but a thick, chocolate frosting would be amazing on these cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I wasn't a fan of the jelly in the frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Loved this recipe! Followed it exactly except i used blueberry spreadable fruit instead of the blackberry jam. Definatly will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I tried this recipe, the cupcakes did not turn out as I expected. They were falling apart. So to the next batch I added 2 cups of flour and it worked much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made these for a friend's birthday and they all loved them! they really came out great and were definitely delicious! I added more lemon since I had more than the recipe called for and replaced the blackberry buttercream frosting for a cream cheese one with lemon zest as garnish! Bon appetit! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
So delicious, I loved the frosting and wish I had made it into a layer cake because I wanted more frosting after the top was eaten. I did have to add some hot water to the jar to get the last of the jam out and to also thin the frosting . I halved the recipe on the frosting and the cupcakes, I actually put all the normal amount of cupcake recipe in 12 cupcake tins. Ok so I didnt read the quantity it makes. They were huge and so good. My boys loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States