Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
The cake texture was great, dense but not too heavy. We could really taste the lemon flavor. I made two 9in rounds, baked at the same temp just a little longer. The edges were a little overcooked, so next time I will drop the oven temp down a little, but the rest of the cake was perfect. I didn't make the frosting from this recipe, but used another, and added the blackberry preserves. It was good, I think I am just on the fence about blackberry in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
We loved it! I liked this recipe because it got its lemon flavor from actual lemons vs. lemon pudding or jello. This will be a favorite for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTTERWELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly after finding it on Pinterest. The cupcake was heavy, like poundcake, and the frosting was over the top sweet. Disappointed. I love sweets but this recipe was no good for me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This is the best cupcake recipe I have ever made. Like others I doubled to recipe for the batter to get 24 normal size cupcakes and single batch of the frosting is more than adequate for all 24 cupcakes. The flavors are bright, fresh and absolutely delicious! The cake is the moistest from scratch cake I have ever been able to achieve there is just nothing bad I can say about this recipe. It is in my opinion perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Pretty good. I can't say that my family really liked them; lemon is such an underrated flavor! The cake part was really tough, it wasn't light and fluffy like you imagine cupcakes to be, it was thick and heavy. But that was okay, it tasted just fine, just made for extra crumbs. For the frosting I didn't have any blackberry jam, so I used blackberry flavored yogurt by yoplait. And ya know what, it worked! I just kept the cupcakes in the fridge, which I would have done anyway because buttercream melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This is an AWEOSME recipe! it goes really well gluten-free as well. Thanks for sharing (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I made this recipe & I used strawberry jelly instead. It was good, but a little too sugary. I also made big cupcakes, so there were only 12, so I halved the frosting. I put a ton of frosting on each cupcake, and half of the frosting was still in the bowl!! yum, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I really loved this recipe. I used cake flour and added the zest and juice of 2 lemons because I wanted a more intense lemon flavour. I also used strawberry jam because that was what I had on hand and it was really yummy. It made 12 cupcakes and I halved the icing and there was still plenty left over. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
simple and delicious! unique twist on a standard cupcake, and they look beautiful when done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Outstanding recipe. I halved the recipe and only got 7 cupcakes. I also did the raspberry jam for the icing. Great results. Lemony flavor and light and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States