Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I made both the cupcakes and the frosting exactly as written. I give the cupcakes a 4. The taste is lovely and lemony, not overly sweet, has a lightness I appreciate. I took off one star because the cupcakes came out flat. I would think it was an error on my part, but I see many, many others had the same result. I give the frosting a 2, but I am not a huge fan of sweet things, so I'm not factoring that in as it may be a matter of personal preference. I love blackberry jam and was looking forward to the combo of berries and lemon, but the frosting just tastes like sickeningly sweet butter with a hint of blackberries. I thought it might just seem overly sweet on its own, so I frosted a cupcake and nearly spit it out, it was so sweet. With doctoring (more jam, some lime juice, and about 3 oz. cream cheese), it wasn't too bad, but I think I'll make the frosting differently in the future. I will definitely be making the cupcakes again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
I made this recipe yesterday and it turned out wonderful! Well exceeded my expectations. I do have a couple tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
I loved these cupcakes I made them for my family and my aunt took some to her friend and they had a cake to but they only ate the cupcakes it was amazing to me I tried the cake they had we ended up putting chocolate frosting on the cake one thing I disliked a bout the cupcakes are how lemony they are but I love the creamy ness of the frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
mades these for a bachelorette party (guest of honor loves lemon) everyone raved about them. I doubled the batch and did not double the frosting and I had enough. I made regular sized cupcakes it made about 28 and I cooked them about 17 mins and they came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
These were okay. When I ate them I cried sweet tears of joy and the frosting was just fantastic. My problem was that, all my cupcakes caved in, taking away from the cupcake look. I followed the directions to a "T" and still had dysfunctional cupcakes. Any tips on how to fix this in the future?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DLT
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Followed recipe exactly as written for the cupcakes and halved the icing - still had plenty. Delicious but only yielded 12 regular sized cupcakes. The cupcakes were moist and light with a nice lemon flavour. My oldest son, who only ever eats the icing off of cupcakes, ate the whole thing in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by romi
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I reduced the servings to yield half and made mini cupcake instead of regular sized ones, resulting in about 30 mini cupcakes. I personally found the icing and cupcakes too sweet but that can be easily fixed. Overall great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
These were quite tasty. I didn't have lemons on hand, so I used the basic recipe and altered it to make lime cupcakes. I used the juice and zest of 2 limes in place of the lemon in the cupcakes. I made them with a lime frosting because I had neither blackberries nor blackberry jam. Then frosting was: whip 1 cup margarine (I didn't have any butter). Add the juice of 1 lime and the zest of 2 limes. A little at a time add powdered sugar enough to make pipable frosting. Garnish with lime zest and a tiny wedge of lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Lichty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
The cake part was delicious it had a nice zesty taste thanks to the lemon, but I felt like the frosting was way to "buttery" almost greasy. Only modification was cutting down the butter in the frosting. Over wise amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I made the cake portion of this cake exactly as instructed and it was moist and delicious. I did not have jam to make the frosting, but used 3 Tb of lemon juice and lemon zest in place of the jam and omitted the vanilla and it was super tasty and complimented the cake very well. I made a cake instead of cupcakes because I didn't have cupcake liners. It fit nicely in my smaller 9x5 pan. I will be making this again really soon as it was gone in one night. On a side note...I used a large lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy A

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States