Lemon Crumb Muffins Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I think there were aspects of this muffin that I really liked, but, it would need a little tweaking to the recipe to work for me. I prepared exactly as the recipe stated, except I added a little extra lemon juice because it did not seem lemony enough. I also thought the crumble was a little powdery. I think it needs a touch more butter to make it more of a crumble. The batter is unbelievably thick, so, don't think you did anything wrong once you make it. Based on other reviews I made a simple syrup with 1/3 cup lemon juice and 1/2 cup sugar and drizzled over some of the muffins while they were hot. The ones that had the drizzle were definitely better than the ones that did not. They were slightly dry and they were definitely not overcooked. The texture is heavier than a typical muffin, but, still good. I would make these again, but, drizzle a little extra of the simple syrup I made on them next time and that may help with the dryness. I think it would be better with a little extra lemon zest added also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Worst muffin recipe ever. I changed the recipe to 24 muffins instead of 40. I added 5 eggs like they suggested in heading. The muffins were way too eggy and greasy and tasted terribly. The only nice part of this recipe is the crumble topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This recipe was originally published in Taste of Home and I noticed that it leaves out the most vital step of the whole muffin experience! There is supposed to be a Lemon Juice/Sugar syrup that you drizzle over the warm muffins. Believe me, this is so important to make these muffins top notch. They already have a beautiful texture and light lemon flavor, but the sweet tang of the syrup takes these over the top! For the full batch, the original TOH glaze recipe calls for 1/2 cup sugar and 1/3 cup lemon juice. Mix to dissolve the sugar, then drizzle over your warm muffins. I sometimes warm the sugar syrup in the microwave a bit to dissolve the sugar, and I always drizzle the muffins while they are still in the pan because this sends the syrup down the sides of the muffin and creates a wonderful experience in your mouth when you finally have a bite! Plus, it's less messy overall, keep the mess in the pan right! They are easy to take out of the pan, too! I made the entire batch one day and couldn't bake them all that evening, so I saved the remaining batter overnight and baked them the next morning and I had no issues with them rising at all. Also, if I have plain or flavored yogurt to use up, I use that in place of the sour cream. I've made these many times according to the recipe and I find that I like more lemon flavor, so I add 2 - 3 tsp of Lemon Extract to the batter with a little more lemon juice as well. Very forgiving recipe and freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I made half of the recipe and wish I had made the whole thing! Not a light muffin, a yummy, rich, heavy piece of deliciousness! Can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
yummy! but the serving size must refer to small muffins. using large/jumbo cupcake liners, when i halved this recipe I only got 12 muffins out of it. tasty! I increased the heat to 425 degrees and baked about 20 minutes for a nice rise on the muffins. also added finely chopped pecans, bout 1/2 a cup to the recipe. since i was low on sour cream, i subbed vanilla yogurt and sour milk. also, i used oil in place of the butter in the muffin batter. next time i will use only two eggs, though- it was a little dense. will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Sooo good! Nice and moist. We didn't even add the crumb topping. Just the juice of an extra lemon like other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
By far the best lemon muffins I've ever made. I made a few changes to reduce fat and calories and use up what I had on hand. I only made 1/2 the batch which produced 24 muffins. I used 2T of butter with 1 cup unsweet applesauce and plain nonfat yogurt instead of sour cream. Also I reduced the eggs to 3 and the sugar by 1/4 c. So perfectly sweet tart tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
I am appreciating the bounty of a friends lime crop. I did what another chef did- halved the recipe but kept the full amount of crumb and drizzled lime juice and powdered sugar on top. I added more juice and zest than the recipe called for cuz I am in to tang. These muffin are amazing- they are so much better than those little costco lime bites. Wow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I too made a few changes: Since I didn't have any sour cream, I used yogurt instead. Added a little vanilla, used one medium lemon's zest for 8 muffins, and I totally forgot to add lemon juice. I also put a little amount of the lemon zest to the crumbs mix. Both me and my mother agreed the result was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElfS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I loved this recipe. I made a recipe for 15 muffins. Not the healthiest muffin but we all need some indulgence from time to time. But just to feel less guilty, I did substitute half of the flour for whole wheat flour and I used fat free sour cream. I don't think I had enough lemon zest on hand but used what I had and they turned out moist and full of lemony deliciousness :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States