Lemon Crumb Muffins Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
The recipe by itself is very good, but I did make some changes after following the recipe exactly the first time - hence the 4 stars. The second time around, I doubled the lemon zest and lemon juice in addition to using 1/2 tsp of lemon extract. It still had a mild flavor of lemons but much more noticeable than before. Rather than using the crumb topping, I also just sprinkle a little extra sugar on top to give it that "shimmery" look and a slight crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2015
The recipe is delicious but I had to substitute buttermilk for the sour cream because I absolutely hate sour cream. I love how the middle of the muffin is chilled by some sort of chemistry involved in the ingredients. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I don't know what went wrong but they were dense as heck. They didn't come out like muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
nice and fluffy texture. i served them with lemon honey instead of butter.it was a huge sucess! did as the recipe says, didn't change a thing. its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I also scaled down the recipe to make 10 muffins. I didn't change a thing other than drizzling a little simple glaze (made with granulated sugar and lemon juice) over the tops while they were still warm. Next time I may add a little lemon extract to the batter and some grated lemon zest to the topping to make them a bit more lemony. All in all, these are very good muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
So, so delicious. I scaled the recipe to 10 servings and followed exact, other than adding dried lemon peel to the crumb topping. Excellent texture and just perfect lemon flavor! Convect baked at 325, took about 25 minutes--do not wait for the topping to brown :) Thank you so much for sharing your recipe, Cindi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This recipe was so yummy! I made it exactly how it is said on here, with the addition of a splash of milk to make the muffins a little more moist and a little extra lemon juice for flavor. Definitely a favorite and definitely makes plenty of muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
So good even though I made a few changes. I went to make them only to find myself out of a few key ingredients (lemon zest and lemon juice) so me being the creative mind I am used dried orange zest and I used lemon extract at half of what it called for in juice and I also added 1/4 tsp of cardamom and 1/4 tsp cinnamon to the batter. AMAZING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Bett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beckie
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I think there were aspects of this muffin that I really liked, but, it would need a little tweaking to the recipe to work for me. I prepared exactly as the recipe stated, except I added a little extra lemon juice because it did not seem lemony enough. I also thought the crumble was a little powdery. I think it needs a touch more butter to make it more of a crumble. The batter is unbelievably thick, so, don't think you did anything wrong once you make it. Based on other reviews I made a simple syrup with 1/3 cup lemon juice and 1/2 cup sugar and drizzled over some of the muffins while they were hot. The ones that had the drizzle were definitely better than the ones that did not. They were slightly dry and they were definitely not overcooked. The texture is heavier than a typical muffin, but, still good. I would make these again, but, drizzle a little extra of the simple syrup I made on them next time and that may help with the dryness. I think it would be better with a little extra lemon zest added also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Worst muffin recipe ever. I changed the recipe to 24 muffins instead of 40. I added 5 eggs like they suggested in heading. The muffins were way too eggy and greasy and tasted terribly. The only nice part of this recipe is the crumble topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Toddler Muffins

Even finicky toddlers love these magical mini-muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States