Lemon Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Delicious! I just made this today, using it over a boxed mix. It covered a bundt cake with icing to spare. I followed cakelady1's suggestion of decreasing the water by 1/4 cup and increasing the lemon by 1/4 cup. I also added about 1 teasp of lemon zest. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
We used this as the filling along with fresh sliced strawberries between layers of lemon cake. We haven't even cut the cake yet, and the kids have been in the kitchen asking for spoonfulls of this filling! (and I have snuck a few myself) I agree with other posters that this isnt a frosting or icing, but it is absolutely delicious! we saved the rest to spread on some raspberry scones tomorrow :P YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tahoegirl
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
this was used as a filling and top layer of the Raspberry Cake. easy to make and it has a great, not too sugary, flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
The description of this is very misleading in that it is a lemon filling, or lemon curd, not a frosting. Having said that, this has a more mellow lemon flavor than other, similar recipes, but is also much richer, which I liked since I used it as as the filling for the three layer Rainbow Citrus Cake, also from this site. In hindsight I'd add two or three teaspoons of lemon zest for more tartness and flavor, but it really was fine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
What a delightful surprise! This is one of those hidden gems. I followed the recipe but reduced the sugar to 1 cup, which was perfect for me. I would highly recommend using this as a filling for lemon meringue pie. It sets up nicely. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This is typically known as "lemon curd." You can find recipes for it in many cookbooks. It is not a frosting but a filling that is used between cake layers or in little pastry tarts. It is also used as an ingredient in other recipes, usually desserts. Mixed with whipped cream, it makes a fluffy dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Superb! This makes a wonderful lemon filling or glaze, I wouldn't describe it as a frosting. I followed the recipe exactly, no changes needed. Lots of lemon flavor! Thick and smooth consistency. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Pretty tasty. I made it on yellow cupcakes and then I topped it with whipped cream and a sliced strawberry on each one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Very good!! I replaced 1/4C of the water with an additional 1/4C lemon juice and added an additional 1TBS of cornstarch so it would make a nice, thick filling for my white cake. I frosted it with homemade whipped cream--delicious combo!! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I thought I was in big trouble - had been doing a massive amount of baking and had miscounted how many eggs I required. Substituted a half cup of lemon yogurt and it worked. No one suspected a thing and it topped my Greek Lemon Cake beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States