Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This icing is great for Lemon/Orange Peel cookies. When i use it for orange I just substitute the lemon for oranges! Awesome all the way around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
blah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This frosting was wonderful. I used 4 C of confectioners sugar and the just added lemon juice until I had a nice spreading consistency. It tasted wonderul and I used it to ice some lemon cookies I also found from this site. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I thought this was a fantastic, light tasting icing. I made angel food cupcakes like a previous reviewed suggested. My husband loved them. I disagree phil's review--I used 2 cups confectioners suger and the icing had a perfect consistency--not a gaze, but more like a frosting. If you want to cut the sugar, I recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Don't know what these people who are complaining it is too sweet are doing. This is the exact recipe I use for my cream cheese frosting on my carrot cake. Definately NOT too sweet. If they only use 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar they will end up with a glaze and not a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This recipe was so easy to make, and coming from someone who barely enters the kitchen that's a huge compliment, and it was absolutely delicious. I made minor changes, substituted lemon ingredients with lime ones and used only 3 teaspoons of confectioner's sugar. It was for my mom's, who is a caterer, birthday and she practically moaned upon her first bite! Thanks so much carol, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Used this to frost a boxed lemon cake. I think I like the frosting better than the cake! I realized, after frosting the cake, that I had left out the vanilla. I wouldn't have known the difference and I really can't imagine adding that warm woodsy flavor to all these cool tangy flavors. I would think the vanilla would take away too much of the tang. I didn't measure the sugar... just kept adding until it was as thick as I wanted it. I added a full two pound bag and I was happy with it at that point. I don't find it "too" sweet, but my sweet tooth and I have an excellent relationship. And, really, how can a mixture of fat and sugar be "too" sweet?? That's it's purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Excellent. I used two cups of powered sugar and whipped it with my Kitchen Aid - very light and fluffy. I used it to frost a chocolate cake from this site and it brought a little tang but not too too much lemon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Loved this! Just finished icing some basic butter recipe cupcakes and it really made the cupcakes. Once the butter, cream cheese, zest, and extract were blended, I played with the lemon juice and powdered sugar. I think I ended up putting in three tablespoons. I eyeballed the powdered sugar to get the consistency I wanted... and the end result was delicious. I couldn't stop licking the spoon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I needed another frosting recipe besides buttercream and fondant and this one caught my eye as an easy to make, tasty finish to a white cake with lemon filling I was asked to make for a friend. WOW! the sample cake I made for my family was a hit and this frosting was the perfect fit for the cake. I did hold back a little on the sugar as I didn't want it too sweet. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drillers05

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States