Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
The BEST! This frosting was amazing. Make sure the lemon zest is in very small pieces not strips. If you are planning to decorate and the frosting needs to hold its shape you must use all of the sugar the recipe calls for. Great balance of all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Zender
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
this was the first frosting i've ever made and i thought it turned out great and was so much easier than i had imagined. i read the comments about only using a fourth of the sugar- i probably used about 3 cups, but only had half the cream cheese on hand. i think the increased sugar just helps to cut all the buttery taste and doesn't necessarily make it super sweet- so i would definitely lean towards more than less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This icing is great for Lemon/Orange Peel cookies. When i use it for orange I just substitute the lemon for oranges! Awesome all the way around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
blah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This frosting was wonderful. I used 4 C of confectioners sugar and the just added lemon juice until I had a nice spreading consistency. It tasted wonderul and I used it to ice some lemon cookies I also found from this site. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
I thought this was a fantastic, light tasting icing. I made angel food cupcakes like a previous reviewed suggested. My husband loved them. I disagree phil's review--I used 2 cups confectioners suger and the icing had a perfect consistency--not a gaze, but more like a frosting. If you want to cut the sugar, I recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Don't know what these people who are complaining it is too sweet are doing. This is the exact recipe I use for my cream cheese frosting on my carrot cake. Definately NOT too sweet. If they only use 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar they will end up with a glaze and not a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phil

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This recipe was so easy to make, and coming from someone who barely enters the kitchen that's a huge compliment, and it was absolutely delicious. I made minor changes, substituted lemon ingredients with lime ones and used only 3 teaspoons of confectioner's sugar. It was for my mom's, who is a caterer, birthday and she practically moaned upon her first bite! Thanks so much carol, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
Used this to frost a boxed lemon cake. I think I like the frosting better than the cake! I realized, after frosting the cake, that I had left out the vanilla. I wouldn't have known the difference and I really can't imagine adding that warm woodsy flavor to all these cool tangy flavors. I would think the vanilla would take away too much of the tang. I didn't measure the sugar... just kept adding until it was as thick as I wanted it. I added a full two pound bag and I was happy with it at that point. I don't find it "too" sweet, but my sweet tooth and I have an excellent relationship. And, really, how can a mixture of fat and sugar be "too" sweet?? That's it's purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Excellent. I used two cups of powered sugar and whipped it with my Kitchen Aid - very light and fluffy. I used it to frost a chocolate cake from this site and it brought a little tang but not too too much lemon taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States