Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
The general idea of the recipe is great, but it's way too much sugar. I prepared the frosting with 1 1/2 cups of sugar, and even then it was a bit on the sweet side, so I added more lemon juice. But with these adjustments, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
217 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I almost didn't make this because another review complained about it being too thin and more like a glaze than a frosting. Glad I tried it anyway! Don't know what that other reviewer did wrong but this is great frosting. I did have to add 2 more teaspoons of lemon juice to get the spreading consistency I needed, but that's not a problem. This great tasting frosting not only spread beautifully but it also pipes well and holds its shape. I'd happily recommend this to anyone looking for a lemon cake frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Great frosting!! I did make a few adjustments though. Used 3 Tablespoons of lemon juice instead of two, and only used 4 cups of powdered sugar. The result was sweet, tangy, and delectable. Kind of reminded me of lemon meringue pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I used a box butter cake mix recipe with lemon curd as the middle layer icing and the lemon cream cheese frosting for the outer layer. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
it's supposed to be 5 OUNCES of sugar, not 5 cups! 5 oz is about 1-1/4 cups, spooned and leveled - which makes a really lovely frosting. This recipe has WAY too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This was such a good frosting to frost any cake take it from me if your looking for a good lemon frosting this is it! And i really dont know how anyone would get a glaze out of this you cant go wrong on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAIKIRA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Decent enough as is, but with so much powdered sugar a good deal of cream cheese flavor and its distinctive tang was unfortunately lost. This might be much better with 1-2 cups less sugar for a real cream cheesey taste. Very lemony - glad I chose to use it on a basic white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
This was a great recipe! Made it for my lemon cake that I used to only glaze. That will never happen again, this frosting will always be on our lemon cake from now on. Baked it for my dad and took it to his resturant, the next day he called wanting the recipe for 2 people. Thanks Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
Very Very Good! didnt' add as much sugar because I didnt' want it to take aways from the cream cheese flavor. I made a white cake with lemon curd filling and the cream cheese frosting on top. Very good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darcey55
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I actually had to add more sugar in order to keep the frosting stable on the ginger cupcakes I made. I took them to work and everybody raved, and I personally didn't find it too sweet either. I'll use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcey55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States