Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2002
The general idea of the recipe is great, but it's way too much sugar. I prepared the frosting with 1 1/2 cups of sugar, and even then it was a bit on the sweet side, so I added more lemon juice. But with these adjustments, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I almost didn't make this because another review complained about it being too thin and more like a glaze than a frosting. Glad I tried it anyway! Don't know what that other reviewer did wrong but this is great frosting. I did have to add 2 more teaspoons of lemon juice to get the spreading consistency I needed, but that's not a problem. This great tasting frosting not only spread beautifully but it also pipes well and holds its shape. I'd happily recommend this to anyone looking for a lemon cake frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
Great frosting!! I did make a few adjustments though. Used 3 Tablespoons of lemon juice instead of two, and only used 4 cups of powdered sugar. The result was sweet, tangy, and delectable. Kind of reminded me of lemon meringue pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
it's supposed to be 5 OUNCES of sugar, not 5 cups! 5 oz is about 1-1/4 cups, spooned and leveled - which makes a really lovely frosting. This recipe has WAY too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I used a box butter cake mix recipe with lemon curd as the middle layer icing and the lemon cream cheese frosting for the outer layer. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Decent enough as is, but with so much powdered sugar a good deal of cream cheese flavor and its distinctive tang was unfortunately lost. This might be much better with 1-2 cups less sugar for a real cream cheesey taste. Very lemony - glad I chose to use it on a basic white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
This was such a good frosting to frost any cake take it from me if your looking for a good lemon frosting this is it! And i really dont know how anyone would get a glaze out of this you cant go wrong on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
This was a great recipe! Made it for my lemon cake that I used to only glaze. That will never happen again, this frosting will always be on our lemon cake from now on. Baked it for my dad and took it to his resturant, the next day he called wanting the recipe for 2 people. Thanks Carol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2002
Very Very Good! didnt' add as much sugar because I didnt' want it to take aways from the cream cheese flavor. I made a white cake with lemon curd filling and the cream cheese frosting on top. Very good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is a pretty basic recipe for cream cheese frosting. If you're looking for an especially sweet and tangy frosting, I would recommend omitting the vanilla extract and replacing it with another tbsp or so of lemon juice. More powdered sugar is what helps you achieve an excellent thick frosting for topping cupcakes with if you use a pastry bag and tip, or if you're in an especially crafty mood, piping out shells or roses and the like. It's what helps the icing hold its shape. If you prefer a thinner frosting you can use to spread over a cake, then, yes, you will want to use less powdered sugar. I personally find four cups to be enough, but that is just me. Rather than taking other reviews' word for this being "too thick" or "too thin," try adding the powdered sugar in 1/2 cup increments to achieve the frosting consistency you want. If it ends up a little thicker than you'd like, add a tbsp or so of milk at a time and mix it in well. Hope this helps, and happy frosting! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States