Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
The frosting was excellent. I used 3 T lemon juice and 4 cups confection sugar and i forgot the vanilla and it had rave reviews. Put it on a Lemon Cake mix with Lemon curd in the middle of the 2 cakes.. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I tried to scale it back to frost just a few cupcakes and it did turn out like a thick glaze, but that was o.k. I also added a bit of pink lemonade powder to it to give it a boost of lemon flavor and a pretty pink color - that worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
it's supposed to be 5 OUNCES of sugar, not 5 cups! 5 oz is about 1-1/4 cups, spooned and leveled - which makes a really lovely frosting. This recipe has WAY too much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I'll start out by saying that this frosting has a wonderful flavor- but- it is entirely too runny to work with if you're trying to pipe with it or even use a pastry tube to decorate cupcakes. I had to use so much sugar to get to even an acceptable consistency. I would recommend this frosting if you just want a simple (non-decorative) frosting, otherwise- look for something thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.elle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This icing was the creamiest stuff on earth! It was really refreashing and, went well with my lemon cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PuppyCupcakeLover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
very nice. made minor changes to taste (but that is to be expected for any recipe). used 4 tbsp fresh lemon juice, only a little zest for color and used about 4 1/3 cups sugar. Added a little more sugar as for children. beautiful. frosting didn't need to be chilled before icing cupcakes; great consistency. kids at church will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Very sweet and tangy! I used a bit under 2 cups of powdered sugar. You don't need any more than that. The frosting looked watery, but was actually perfect spreading consistency. Make sure you use fresh lemon juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Thank you for the recipe! I went by some of the suggestions - reduced the sugar to four cups, left out the vanilla, put the icing in the fridge to chill for a few hours (though I should have taken it out for a few minutes before icing my cake as it was a bit stiff). It was just enough to ice a two layer cake with a small amount in between the layers. I baked the Luscious Lemon Cake recipe from the Robin Hood Flour recipe (which I tweaked by using lemon yogurt instead of plain and adding about a teaspoon of lemon juice), sprinkled the top of the cake with coconut and everyone loved the results! It made a lovely dessert for a Mother's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I agree with others who said this has too much sugar. I put in a cup and thought it was sweet enough for our tastes. I ended up putting in a small amount more plus about 1-2 tsp of corn starch just for consistency (since icing sugar has corn starch added to it). I refrigerated it, and it thickened up perfectly and tasted fabulous on our lemon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Delicious!! I didn't change anything except I did add a touch of yellow food coloring. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States