Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Thank you for the recipe! I went by some of the suggestions - reduced the sugar to four cups, left out the vanilla, put the icing in the fridge to chill for a few hours (though I should have taken it out for a few minutes before icing my cake as it was a bit stiff). It was just enough to ice a two layer cake with a small amount in between the layers. I baked the Luscious Lemon Cake recipe from the Robin Hood Flour recipe (which I tweaked by using lemon yogurt instead of plain and adding about a teaspoon of lemon juice), sprinkled the top of the cake with coconut and everyone loved the results! It made a lovely dessert for a Mother's Day dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I agree with others who said this has too much sugar. I put in a cup and thought it was sweet enough for our tastes. I ended up putting in a small amount more plus about 1-2 tsp of corn starch just for consistency (since icing sugar has corn starch added to it). I refrigerated it, and it thickened up perfectly and tasted fabulous on our lemon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Delicious!! I didn't change anything except I did add a touch of yellow food coloring. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Way too sweet and almost no lemon flavor. I threw most of it away. However, omit the lemon zest and it would probably be good for piping designs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker75463

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Fabulous recipe. Pretty much did as recipe said, used about 3 tsp of zest though. Came out perfect. Will use this one often. I put it on a moist lemon cake but it would also be great on a white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Perfect - yum! Easy to adjust the consistency and holds up well for piping. I used fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Decent enough as is, but with so much powdered sugar a good deal of cream cheese flavor and its distinctive tang was unfortunately lost. This might be much better with 1-2 cups less sugar for a real cream cheesey taste. Very lemony - glad I chose to use it on a basic white cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Really creamy. I too cut back on the sugar- maybe to 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BornRedPrincess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
delicious! I, too, used less sugar--only about 2 cups. It tastes great on lemon cake from a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This frosting was okay. I used it on top of the "Lemon Cream Cupcakes," and I thought it was just too sweet. The recipe calls for 5 cups of confectioners' sugar. I used 2 cups, and even that was too much. I might try making this recipe again, but I'll definitely be cutting back even more on the amount of sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States