Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This recipe is fantastic, and my husband wants me to make two more cakes, NOW...used this frosting on the "Lemon Gold Cake" recipe on this site, and the pairing is just awesome for lemon lovers. I zested a large lemon and then used the juice, added powdered sugar til it was just right for my taste buds, and WOW! This is what I love about this site, we get to try any recipe we want, make it our own and still give credit to those who originally put it out there for us to taste. And when my husband keeps wanting "repeats", I know it is a keeper. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyface12

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
Loved this recipe - only adjustment was a little less sugar (I found 4 cups to be enough) and threw it in the fridge for a few minutes to firm it up before frosting.... But a GREAT light but sweet summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Delicious frosting! I didn't use all the sugar like some other reviewers and it worked out perfectly. I just added and tasted till it was how I wanted it. Put it on lemon cupcakes with a lemon curd and yum! So good! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Really tasty frosting. I added 2 tbsp of Pineapple juice and took out the vanilla. The lemon and juice compliment each other and this was very delicious on my pineapple cream cupcakes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Fantastic frosting!!! This is a great recipe to make "to taste". Start out with a little less sugar and then just keep adding until you are amazed! Do the same with the lemon juice too. Try going a little heavier on the cream cheese and you have a great fruit dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Excellent. Easy and wow does it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian M Boccuzzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is fabulous. I think 5 cups of sugar would be a little too sweet for most people, but it does need a fair amount to be thick enough to pipe. I added all the confectioner's sugar I had which was about 2.5 cups I think, and it was fine on sweetness but not quite the thickness I wanted. It wasn't runny, so if you wanted a spreadable frosting it would be ok, but I wanted to pipe. It would have needed at least 3-4 cups of sugar to hold its shape properly but in terms of taste you can't really go wrong, add to your liking. All that to say, very delicious! I used it on vanilla cupcakes with a raspberry whipped cream filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Good basic recipe, but I cut the sugar in half, increased the cream cheese and butter, and upped the lemon juice and zest. Would have been nauseatingly sweet otherwise. I used the recipe here as a starting point but then ended up changing it a lot to get a nice, tart, cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Only used 1 cup sugar and consistency still turned out fine. Not too sweet and you get more of the lemon flavor. There is enough to frost 12 cupcakes. Will be my go-to lemon flavored frosting from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Taste was excellent, but mine was runny. Not firm to hold up on a cupcake. Recipe needs meringue powder to help with structure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States