Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Fantastic frosting!!! This is a great recipe to make "to taste". Start out with a little less sugar and then just keep adding until you are amazed! Do the same with the lemon juice too. Try going a little heavier on the cream cheese and you have a great fruit dip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Excellent. Easy and wow does it taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian M Boccuzzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is fabulous. I think 5 cups of sugar would be a little too sweet for most people, but it does need a fair amount to be thick enough to pipe. I added all the confectioner's sugar I had which was about 2.5 cups I think, and it was fine on sweetness but not quite the thickness I wanted. It wasn't runny, so if you wanted a spreadable frosting it would be ok, but I wanted to pipe. It would have needed at least 3-4 cups of sugar to hold its shape properly but in terms of taste you can't really go wrong, add to your liking. All that to say, very delicious! I used it on vanilla cupcakes with a raspberry whipped cream filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Good basic recipe, but I cut the sugar in half, increased the cream cheese and butter, and upped the lemon juice and zest. Would have been nauseatingly sweet otherwise. I used the recipe here as a starting point but then ended up changing it a lot to get a nice, tart, cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Only used 1 cup sugar and consistency still turned out fine. Not too sweet and you get more of the lemon flavor. There is enough to frost 12 cupcakes. Will be my go-to lemon flavored frosting from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Taste was excellent, but mine was runny. Not firm to hold up on a cupcake. Recipe needs meringue powder to help with structure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilberts, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Wow! I had a lemon cake mix and was looking for a lemon cream cheese frosting - and boy did I pick the right one to try! I followed the recipe exactly and it is perfect! It has the perfect balance of sweet and tart. Now I'm trying to come up with other things I can use it on -like mini baked donuts, cookies, my fingers. ;) Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
LOVED this flavor. The basics are there...I simply adjusted to my palate. I added 1 Tbs. more of lemon juice and 1/2 tsp. of more zest. Took the powdered sugar down by 11/2 cups and it was perfect for not only cake (even a lemon cake at that) but also Christmas sugar cookies that I felt needed a zip! :) It's a frosting I will use over and over again to add a zing to all my cake and cookie flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SMClanton
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
very good! i had lemons and cream cheese to use up so i made a boxed lemon cake mix and used this frosting. excellent! i love lemon anything ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This was good but not enough lemon flavour for me. I swapped the vanilla extract for lemon and it was perfect! I also think that amount of icing sugar is off...I used 4 cups and might even reduce it to 3 1/2 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States