Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I can definitely see how people got a glaze consistency when making this frosting, because that's what happened when I made it! Some reviewers mentioned that they had to use an extra tablespoon of lemon juice, and a cup or two less of sugar because it wasn't thin enough, but that was not the case at all for me. Maybe I should have tightly packed the sugar when I was measuring it? I don't know! It is super yummy, though -- a perfect combination of sweet and tart -- it's just a little too runny for my cupcakes. I'm hoping that some time in the refrigerator will stiffen it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
This frosting was so amazing. I loved it so much. Made a lemon layered cake for my daughters birthday and used this. I did add a little more lemon zest..but was a big hit. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reachkimo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This frosting is YUMMY! Like another user, I didn't use anywhere NEAR that amount of sugar; super yummy anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This recipe was great for my lemon cake ... I used somewhere between 4 and 5 cups of powdered sugar. and of course it did need more lemon juice .. used a small bit of heavy cream for extra liquid .. I think everyone would make some sort of adjustments for the spreading consistency ... whipped it up on high speed and was light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigerlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is a great recipe; however, I used only about 2 1/2 cups of sugar, and it turned out very good. The frosting was very spreadable. I also added some lemon extract to up the lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole42

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This turned out really nice and fluffy. I used two cups of sugar of it was enough and added a little more lemon juice and rind. The key is the use myer lemons which gives it a nice fragrance which helps to decrease the amount of acidity. I used it on a carrot cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is excellent frosting!!! The people who say use 1 1/2 cups of sugar are obviously doing something wrong. (try beating the icing longer than 1 or 2 minutes, that will do wonders). I will be making this frosting a lot.. this will be great on chocolate cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Wonderful! I made this exactly as it was written, and it was perfect. The frosting is really, really gorgeous with tiny bright flecks of zest and a beautiful almost-lemony color. I didn't think five cups was too much sugar. I might actually have added a bit more myself as I fine-tuned the consistency. I used this to frost a layer cake -- I made the Easy White Cake recipe from this site (adding some lemon zest), baked two layers, and spread both this frosting and a thin layer of jarred lemon curd between the two layers. Frosted the sides and tops of the cake generously. A perfect birthday cake for a lemon-lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fowler, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I used 2 cups of powdered sugar and achieved the consistency I wanted. This is an easy and yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Love this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States