Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is a pretty basic recipe for cream cheese frosting. If you're looking for an especially sweet and tangy frosting, I would recommend omitting the vanilla extract and replacing it with another tbsp or so of lemon juice. More powdered sugar is what helps you achieve an excellent thick frosting for topping cupcakes with if you use a pastry bag and tip, or if you're in an especially crafty mood, piping out shells or roses and the like. It's what helps the icing hold its shape. If you prefer a thinner frosting you can use to spread over a cake, then, yes, you will want to use less powdered sugar. I personally find four cups to be enough, but that is just me. Rather than taking other reviews' word for this being "too thick" or "too thin," try adding the powdered sugar in 1/2 cup increments to achieve the frosting consistency you want. If it ends up a little thicker than you'd like, add a tbsp or so of milk at a time and mix it in well. Hope this helps, and happy frosting! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Good recipe. I used TWO 8oz bars of cream cheese instead of one, and I also added a little extra butter (didn't have unsalted so I used margarine instead and it turned out fine...a little thinner than butter, but just barely). I barely made it to 5 cups of sugar (was more like 4.5) and it was very sweet...even after doubling the cream cheese and butter. I could've added some whipped cream to tone down the sweetness but I got lazy. This was more than enough to frost a double layer cake with a layer in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Byhalia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Excellent pipeable buttery lemon cream cheese frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Made it pretty close to written, only used 4.5 cups sugar. Most frosting recipes I use have at least 3 to 3.5 cups of powdered sugar anyway. And you have to remember that 1 cup of powdered sugar is equal to about 1/2 cup of granulated, so the difference is not as significant. The extra sugar in this recipe makes it a bit sturdier so I felt that was the point of it anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jhawksrule

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
sooooo AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
Used a bit less than a cup of confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterproof, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I took the advise of others and reduced the sugar. I ended up using a little over 2 cups. I say start out with 1.5 cups and go from there until you get the right amount to your liking. I found a little over 2 cups to be perfect for my tastes. The texture was perfect. I'll definitely be saving this for future usage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chobette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
i loved this recipe, only I add 2 sponne more of lemon juice and is sweet enough, I will not add nothing only maybe food yellow color to make more lemon color or green color to made like limen color, , but was all perfect. is only need be cold to use for frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
A little to thick to pipe, I added a tiny bit of water as to the texture I needed. I also added a little bit of lemon extract. Everyone liked it at the church. I also added one toothpick of hello to dye frosting a very light yellow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debra Schmitt Monahan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mastic, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
It was creamy and easy to make. The lemon and the cream cheese paired well. I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States