Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe is perfect as is. The person who said it should be 5 ounces of powdered sugar instead of 5 cups is wrong. As written it ends up being perfectly creamy, lemony, and just right for sweetness. I don't normally like cake much, but we had this on a lemon box cake and I kept eating it just for the frosting. When I made it, the cream cheese and butter were cool but workable, and with the 5 cups of powdered sugar it was just right to spread easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
What a great, flavorful frosting. Made it as is but used all the juice and zest from the lemon. I used 5 cups of confectioner's sugar, it became a tad stiff so I added some whipping cream to make it more speadable. Just a delectable lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Homewood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe but there is too much powdered sugar... I only used about one and one half cups... nice flavor for pumpkin and spice cakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
It was really a good frosting, great lemon flavor but it was more like a glaze than a frosting. At first I thought that maybe my kitchen was too hot, but the frosting was still thin and I ran out of powdered sugar. I gave it three stars because the flavor was there. Next time, I will add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Awesome! I make it with friedbluetomato's Lemon Cupcake Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halsey, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Nice lemon 'zing' with a cream cheese base - and the only thing I did wrong was listen to the reviewers who said to cut back on the sugar. The texture wasn't quite firm enough with only 4 cups of sugar - I thought it was when I first took it off the mixer, but then quickly realized it needed more sugar to stiffen up a bit more. Will definitely try it again, next time with the 5 full cups of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I doubled the recipe and only used 1.5 cups sugar - and even that was too sweet. It could be just fine with 1 cup. I did add a bit more lemon juice to balance out the sugar and it came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Delicious! The perfect compliment to my lemon cupcakes. This will definitely be a recipe I will use over and over. My kids loved this frosting, too. I took a couple over to our retired neighbors next door and she called later to tell me how much her husband loved them since he really enjoys lemon. I didn't measure the lemon juice precisely as I used fresh lemons and just squeezed them in and went by consistency. I also only used a dash of lemon zest as it is a turn-off for my kids. The reviewer who gave this one star and claims that the sugar amount is off obviously never makes homemade frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
just finished making this recipe it came out fantastic , only thing i did different was add 3 caps full of lemon and didnt use the lemon zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
5 cups of sugar is just too much, I made this exactly following the recipe and it didn´t work out so well. At the third cup of sugar it seemed fine but when added the other two it got all stiff and pretty much impossible to work on a cake or cup cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States