Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe but there is too much powdered sugar... I only used about one and one half cups... nice flavor for pumpkin and spice cakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
It was really a good frosting, great lemon flavor but it was more like a glaze than a frosting. At first I thought that maybe my kitchen was too hot, but the frosting was still thin and I ran out of powdered sugar. I gave it three stars because the flavor was there. Next time, I will add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Awesome! I make it with friedbluetomato's Lemon Cupcake Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halsey, Oregon, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Nice lemon 'zing' with a cream cheese base - and the only thing I did wrong was listen to the reviewers who said to cut back on the sugar. The texture wasn't quite firm enough with only 4 cups of sugar - I thought it was when I first took it off the mixer, but then quickly realized it needed more sugar to stiffen up a bit more. Will definitely try it again, next time with the 5 full cups of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I doubled the recipe and only used 1.5 cups sugar - and even that was too sweet. It could be just fine with 1 cup. I did add a bit more lemon juice to balance out the sugar and it came out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Delicious! The perfect compliment to my lemon cupcakes. This will definitely be a recipe I will use over and over. My kids loved this frosting, too. I took a couple over to our retired neighbors next door and she called later to tell me how much her husband loved them since he really enjoys lemon. I didn't measure the lemon juice precisely as I used fresh lemons and just squeezed them in and went by consistency. I also only used a dash of lemon zest as it is a turn-off for my kids. The reviewer who gave this one star and claims that the sugar amount is off obviously never makes homemade frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
just finished making this recipe it came out fantastic , only thing i did different was add 3 caps full of lemon and didnt use the lemon zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
5 cups of sugar is just too much, I made this exactly following the recipe and it didn´t work out so well. At the third cup of sugar it seemed fine but when added the other two it got all stiff and pretty much impossible to work on a cake or cup cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This is a pretty basic recipe for cream cheese frosting. If you're looking for an especially sweet and tangy frosting, I would recommend omitting the vanilla extract and replacing it with another tbsp or so of lemon juice. More powdered sugar is what helps you achieve an excellent thick frosting for topping cupcakes with if you use a pastry bag and tip, or if you're in an especially crafty mood, piping out shells or roses and the like. It's what helps the icing hold its shape. If you prefer a thinner frosting you can use to spread over a cake, then, yes, you will want to use less powdered sugar. I personally find four cups to be enough, but that is just me. Rather than taking other reviews' word for this being "too thick" or "too thin," try adding the powdered sugar in 1/2 cup increments to achieve the frosting consistency you want. If it ends up a little thicker than you'd like, add a tbsp or so of milk at a time and mix it in well. Hope this helps, and happy frosting! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Good recipe. I used TWO 8oz bars of cream cheese instead of one, and I also added a little extra butter (didn't have unsalted so I used margarine instead and it turned out fine...a little thinner than butter, but just barely). I barely made it to 5 cups of sugar (was more like 4.5) and it was very sweet...even after doubling the cream cheese and butter. I could've added some whipped cream to tone down the sweetness but I got lazy. This was more than enough to frost a double layer cake with a layer in between.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Myia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Byhalia, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States