Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is an outstanding and relatively easy recipe. I sifted the sugar to create a smoother consistency. I also added orange zest, which was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I go with 1/2 cup butter with one 8 oz package of cream cheese - both softened and then beaten together before adding other ingredients. Also can use orange zest and orange juice or concentrate instead of lemon - orange flavor is GREAT on pumpkin muffins (makes them like cupcakes) or pumpkin cookies. My son's birthday is right before Halloween and the kids at school loved the orange colored treat (I added a bit of orange food coloring).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pak Kret, Nonthaburi, Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This frosting was so yummy. I added another tsp of lemon juice, and I followed others advice and used only 3 cups of powdered sugar. I refrigerated it while the cake finished cooling and it was perfect, not at all runny. This with definitely become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Too thin. Too sweet. I should have stopped when I was at 2 cups of icing sugar and a few drops of lemon and orange essential oils. That was perfect. The consistency was ok until I added about 1 tsp of lemon juice. Then it all got disappointing. But the only reason I did use the lemon juice is because it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I love the frosting. It turned out rich and creamy and for once it didn't curdle the butter or cheese. I did use less sugar than it called for about 2.5 cups to be exact, and it is much thicker than a glaze, its just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This has way too much sugar as written. I only used 2 cups and it was plenty. Apart from the excess sugar the icing was very nice. It went well with the banana cake I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I was a little disappointed in this recipe- the texture was a little too runny. I expected it to be more fluffy for frosting a cake. I frosted a birthday cake and much of it ran down the sides to the bottom of the cake plate.I had to quickly refrigerate it to try to set it. I couldn't add any more powdered sugar to thicken it as I had already added the 5 cups and it was overly sweet. The flavor was good, although a little too much on the sweet side. My mother's birthday cake was not the best it could have been!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I intended to use this icing for some frseh-baked cookies I made. The cookies only turned out so-so but this frosting was/is fantastic! I love the lemony- cheese cake like flavor given by the cream cheese in this recipe. I can't wait to try it on a freshly baked lemon cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Amazing frosting! Just great on the lemon cream cupcakes (also on this site)...however, I did follow prior advise and used only 4 cups of sugar instead of the 5 & the frosting was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I really enjoyed this frosting on my lemon cake. I didn't have lemon zest, for the frosting so I substituted with lemon extract. It was pretty good. Next time I will definitely do it with the zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States