Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Oh. My. Gosh. This frosting recipe is TOO GOOD! I only used 4 cups of confectioners sugar, which made the frosting perfectly sweet. I added more fresh lemon juice (about 2 tbsp more) as I like extra-lemon-y frosting. The extra juice made the frosting a tad thinner than what the pictures looked like, which is probably why I ended up with so much frosting left over! I made 15 cupcakes to frost, and still had at least half of the frosting left over! This frosting is absolutely wonderful and I will never give up this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darcey55
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I actually had to add more sugar in order to keep the frosting stable on the ginger cupcakes I made. I took them to work and everybody raved, and I personally didn't find it too sweet either. I'll use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcey55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I only used about half the sugar, but I refrigerated overnight to thicken before using it and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Very tasty, however, I only used about 1/2 of the sugar and found it plenty sweet with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is an outstanding and relatively easy recipe. I sifted the sugar to create a smoother consistency. I also added orange zest, which was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I go with 1/2 cup butter with one 8 oz package of cream cheese - both softened and then beaten together before adding other ingredients. Also can use orange zest and orange juice or concentrate instead of lemon - orange flavor is GREAT on pumpkin muffins (makes them like cupcakes) or pumpkin cookies. My son's birthday is right before Halloween and the kids at school loved the orange colored treat (I added a bit of orange food coloring).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pak Kret, Nonthaburi, Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
This frosting was so yummy. I added another tsp of lemon juice, and I followed others advice and used only 3 cups of powdered sugar. I refrigerated it while the cake finished cooling and it was perfect, not at all runny. This with definitely become a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Too thin. Too sweet. I should have stopped when I was at 2 cups of icing sugar and a few drops of lemon and orange essential oils. That was perfect. The consistency was ok until I added about 1 tsp of lemon juice. Then it all got disappointing. But the only reason I did use the lemon juice is because it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
I love the frosting. It turned out rich and creamy and for once it didn't curdle the butter or cheese. I did use less sugar than it called for about 2.5 cups to be exact, and it is much thicker than a glaze, its just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hot Chilli
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This has way too much sugar as written. I only used 2 cups and it was plenty. Apart from the excess sugar the icing was very nice. It went well with the banana cake I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 131-140 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States