Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2004
5 cups of sugar is way too much! I followed other people's instructions and only put 1 and 1/2 cups of sugar in and added a bit more lemon juice and it turned out perfectly. This is sooo good, and it goes great on the daffodil cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
As written, only an average recipe. Too much playing around with measurements to get it to proper consistency to rate this any higher. I used only half the amount of lemon juice (and added some zest to replace lost lemon flavor) and it still was thinner than I would have liked. And, as others have remarked, it really is too sweet. By the time I manipulated the sugar and juice measurements and added lemon zest, I really wasn't making this recipe anymore. Since I was using this to pipe on cupcakes and needed a sturdier frosting, rather than add more confectioners sugar I added a couple teaspoons of meringue powder, which helped. If I was to make this in the future I would still use only 1 T. of lemon juice, and perhaps double the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
I made this frosting yesterday, and used fresh lemon juice and no food coloring (you don't really need it, the color is nice without coloring). The flavor is great, except I think that it's much too sweet. If I make this again, I will use less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Lovely, luscious and perfectly lemony ambrosia. Applied this to the lemon drop cookie recipe on this website. The cookie was OK without the frosting, but was just devine with this frosting. It's nice and tangy with the fresh lemon. Much better than using lemon extract only. The cream cheese imparts a perfectly compatible tang. Could be used to dress up a plain vanilla cake or on an orange cake. Can be used as a glaze by thinning it out a bit with drops of milk. Versatile and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This icing is great! I used it for both lemon cupcakes and carrot muffins and it was the best part. Half of the recipe iced 12 cupcakes/muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Family loved this recipe. I doubled the lemon juice and added about 2 teaspoons of lemon zest to the mix and then added enough extra powdered sugar to compensate for the extra juice. It was super lemony. I iced a lemon wedding cake that is my wife's favorite (I'll post the recipe for the cake soon).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I'm not usually a lemon person but omg this frosting is amazing and addictive. I can't keep my fingers out of the bowl! I use freshly squeezed lemon juice for the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZombieT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Easy, quick and delicious recipe! I did as other reviewers and used less sugar, added lemon zest, and a bit more lemon juice than what the recipe called for. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Deliciously sweet! I scaled the recipe down to 16 servings. Added 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon zest. Only used 2 drops of yellow food coloring to give a better yellow color. I used this recipe to fill and top the Lemon Gold Cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SMClanton
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
i made this frosting for a boxed lemon cake mix. it was delicious! i followed the recipe exactly.. it was sweet, but thats what i thought frosting was supposed to be? i couldn't quit licking the bowl it was so good. the flavors of the cream cheese and lemon go very well together. thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMClanton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States