Lemon-Cream Cheese Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cpatlovany
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made this recipe using strawberry cake mix, vanilla jello pudding, and strawberry frosting (from a can) to make strawberries and cream cupcakes. They were very delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Very disappointing. I'm not sure what happened, as I followed the recipe exactly. The cupcakes were very chewy and hard to eat, and the icing was too runny. I live in a high altitude area, so maybe the recipe needed to be adjusted for that? I was sad, as I had high hopes for these cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Saved recipe only for the icing recipe. Good, but would half it next time -- makes far too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My 16 year old daughter had a cupcake wars party with her friends and this was one of the recipes they made. At the end of the evening we had a taste test and these were almost unanimously voted number one. They were so easy to make and beat out some more complicated recipes. We're definitely making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
The frosting needed more lemon flavor. I added the zest of two lemons and it was still not lemony enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
My family LOVED these cupcakes and really LOVED the frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
These were easy to mix up and had good flavor, but I agree the timing was off. I made 12 (if I had made 24 they would have been mini cupcakes) and they were burnt at the bottom after 21 minutes. I can't imagine how burnt they would have been if I had made 24 of them as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I made these for a baby shower and they are delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Swayzee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Wow! With a few adjustments these turned out great! I used a box of lemon cake mix. I was so hesitant to use only egg whites and just 2 TB oil as the box called for 3 whole eggs and much more oil. I was afraid it would turn out very hard but it was actually so moist! I baked mine at 325 for about 23 minutes in 2 9X9 round cake pans. I made a layer cake and had plenty of icing for the middle layer and to completely cover the cake. I used 1/4 cup lemon juice in the icing and it still didn't seem very lemony so I added a couple dashes of lemon extract and a little extra powdered sugar (as it was very thin to start)- Perfection. I made this for my daughter's 6th b'day- St. Paddy's Day- so I made it all green (cake and icing) with gel food coloring. Everyone raved about the flavor. Will definitely be making this again with the above mentioned adjustments as I don't think white cake mix would make it lemony enough. Also, you really do need to add extra lemon flavor to the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DdAyWeN
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
love this recipe and so did everyone else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DdAyWeN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: Brea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

PB and J Cupcakes

Turn an all-time favorite sandwich into a spectacular dessert.

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Cranberry-Apple Pilgrim Pie

This pilgrim pie is delicious and super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States